CRASH Pilot Error or String on Prop Guards

Reaction score
I'm a novice, this is my 5th. outing. I have a H3-2D gimbal Immersion VTX & Black Pearl FPV

'm running 3.0 and don't feel confident about the upgrade to 3.2

I wish I was running 1.08 on the controller but can't find it for a Mac, I am running 1.0.1.27 on the P330CB.

I'm flying is a wide open area, but too far out for my skill level. I lose my bearings and start to panic. I forget the Black Pearl can help me find my bearings and get home. I studied the telemetry that afternoon and then forgot it when I panicked. So, I turn of the controller. The Phantom comes back and begins its descent.

I saw a video that recommended that at the last 30' or so, take control of the Phantom in ATTI mode to bring it down smoothly.

Smoothly didn't happen. I can't say for sure, but the Phantom started a nose dive about the same time I turned on the controller. The Phantom went out of control vertically and hit hard. Was it me or the prop guard string that fouled a rotor?

The damage: four prop guards three props and the Gimbal won't come to position upon restarting the Phantom. I flew this morning and hovering was not great. Yesterday before the crash the hovering was the best I've ever seen after being freshly calibrated.

I recalibrated and the Phantom flies but the hovering isn't great.

Take a look at the Gimbal, the red light functions but I can't tell if there is damage to the two areas in this photo: http://screencast.com/t/OLmxUXAy9bmy

The grey ribbon cable on the top looks fine.

I don't know where to get the Gimbal repaired.

THE STRING? HERE'S THE DEAL:

When I was replacing the props and the prop guards, I discovered there was about 18" of string wrapped around a rotor. Does this mean that the a vortex effect, if that's what it was, blew the string into the path of the props? Or did the string just fowl the rotor and make the Phantom go into a nose dive as it was descending.