Compass errors recently - anyone else getting these?

Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
97
Reaction score
70
Age
47
I noticed a few problems with my p3a and other friends reporting errors atti mode breaks recently. As a pluck out of the blue could glonass GPS be the problem. I just wonder if the US and RUSSIA and having a sat war at the moment. Maybe pie in the sky I know but it is possible that this would be a answer to this problem
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,320
Location
San Francisco, CA
It's true that we have recently seen many compass errors and GPS to automatic ATTI mode changes.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
327
Location
Girard. ohio
I noticed a few problems with my p3a and other friends reporting errors atti mode breaks recently. As a pluck out of the blue could glonass GPS be the problem. I just wonder if the US and RUSSIA and having a sat war at the moment. Maybe pie in the sky I know but it is possible that this would be a answer to this problem

I tend to think a bad batch of compass boards hit the mfg line a little while back.
you can get gps error if compass is out of wack,
they work together for heading and position


based upon that issue popping up rather quickly a little while back.
also have seen a few posts that dji fixed by replacing compass....

good luck and have fun flying..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tommy Iversen
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
504
Reaction score
128
Age
57
Location
Southern New Jersey
Ive been getting compass errors in my back yard where I've never gotten them before. Now I get a calibrate compass message almost every time I turn it on. And no I have done nothing to my yard at all. And I have not updated to the latest firmware yet.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
822
Reaction score
210
Location
midwest USA
Neither GPS nor GLONASS have anything to do with compasses, of course. I doubt that the current cold war is affecting the earth's magnetic field.

Both GPS and GLONASS undergo periodic interference testing. Maybe it's some kind of overlap in that testing process, or some other problem that Russia is having with their system and not announcing.

GPS.gov: GPS Service Outages & Status Reports
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
32
I haven't been able to fly for the last 2 weeks due to Compass Errors. Tried multiple locations, many which i have flow in before and regularly. Latest firmware. No compass error previously!!


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
12
Age
50
Hi,
I have had a couple of compass errors also.
Yesterday I got a compass stuck error and motors would not start.I turned the drone off,left for a few minutes,back on and all was ok.
Anyone know if this is a more serious issue ?.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2015
Messages
212
Reaction score
43
Age
63
I as well as other friends have not experienced this compass issue, I think that most of these posts are ******** per se. I say this based on my experience and real world facts. I am still wondering if this thread is a hoax those who have posted are playing along with the joke???
Seriously
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
I had a couple of compass errors when I got my used P3A about a month or so ago but I have not had a issue since. Have not had to calibrate it in about a week.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
12
Age
50
Gunnypapa,
What sort of ridiculous reply is that.?
The problem is extremely well documented.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
12
Age
50
Hi,
So today I took her out again.Upon start up I got a compass stuck error so the motors wouldn't start up.Turned off then on again and the motors started and I was good to go.I was flying in the park and in about a 14 min flight I encountered several compass error messages.
I am now a little concerned about flying with this unresolved issue.Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
Hi,
So today I took her out again.Upon start up I got a compass stuck error so the motors wouldn't start up.Turned off then on again and the motors started and I was good to go.I was flying in the park and in about a 14 min flight I encountered several compass error messages.
I am now a little concerned about flying with this unresolved issue.Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Scott is your Phantom new? Is it under warranty? Contact DJI if it is. I have seen a number of bad compass issues and the compass needed to be replaced.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
504
Reaction score
128
Age
57
Location
Southern New Jersey
I as well as other friends have not experienced this compass issue, I think that most of these posts are ******** per se. I say this based on my experience and real world facts. I am still wondering if this thread is a hoax those who have posted are playing along with the joke???
Seriously
Who are you to call my post B.S.? If you disagree with someone, give a reason, don't just weakly call it bs. My issues are accurate as I believe the others here are too. If you don't have something positive to say, just shut up.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
12
Age
50
Who are you to call my post B.S.? If you disagree with someone, give a reason, don't just weakly call it bs. My issues are accurate as I believe the others here are too. If you don't have something positive to say, just shut up.
+1



Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
133,608
Messages
1,383,538
Members
97,496
Latest member
Wayne Goldpig