cold temps

As long as the batteries are started above 55F and due to plastic becoming more brittle at those temps use caution and don't cause high G-forces on the props and arms, wear gloves...... It should be ok. I've flown in 21F and other than not being able to feel my fingers I still have a functioning Phantom.

Reactions: mrvnvrgs
I have flown extensively in cold weather (between 0 and 32 F) and had no real problems. Though a year ago, when I was a newbie, I flew in very cold fog and ended up with iced props. I think I’m lucky it didn’t fall out of the sky.

Just now I flew a very short flight from my back porch in -20 F weather. I had video feed problems from the beginning but I can’t be sure if that was from the extreme cold or from WiFi interference. I doubt that I will fly in this kind of cold again but I wanted to be able to say that I did. [emoji846]
48876a02979a1e9519e56328854316e7.jpg

I’m still a newbie and afraid to lose my drone it’s -20^f here now

Only had mine a week, but it hasn’t been above freezing here since then. Coldest I flew in was about 10 F. Only issue I noticed was a fair amount of altitude drift. Most of that was in the 1st minute, but still some afterwards.

I’ve been flying in 0 F to +8 F this week. Start with full warm battery and have it parked by the time it gets near 50%. Battery drops off really fast after 50% and is not linear. This will give you 10-15 minutes which is the limit of my fingers and IPad before things seem to slow down. Get out and enjoy. No Fear No Gain.

I couldn’t take it any longer and had to try it.

I have Polaris ranger with a cab and heat I set inside with heat on and roll down window and it flies fine,hands stay warm and I can fly out 1.5 miles and back with 55% batteries left at 0 to 20’f. It’s a lot of fun