cheap uk pcfo providers

Reaction score
Hi all -

I own an old phantom 3 and just fly occasionally here in the UK as a hobby but I'm a web designer by trade. Recently a couple of clients have had drone footage done by someone else and want it included in their website, and have mentioned they want more done. When one of them found out I had a drone they asked if I could do it. I was aware you needed a commercial license, so I said I'd have to look into it.

I was basically after some input if anyone knows the cheapest avenue to down in the UK to be qualified plus some rough breakdown of costs to get set up. My drone isn't worth much so it seems silly spending a lot, but I could get some occasional jobs out of it. I just need to work out if it's worth it financially - i wouldn't be looking to set up a 'drone business' but just do the occasional job when it came up through what I do with web. I'm a confident flyer - I've been flying my drone for a couple of years now.

From what I can understand a good deal for a course is £1k, plus £112 admin charge to get your pcfo, then annual insurance of around £400. Does that sound about right? Does anyone know of places that are cheaper or allow you pay monthly? I also can't find out what the costs are for permits for each job.

Im confused because this article here (UK CAA propose 128% fee hike for commercial operators - sUAS News - The Business of Drones) says the pcfo is 112, but if I'm right, thats a charge that goes to CAA and they'll only accept that once you have done training with an accredited provider. If that's at the case, then I'm confused why training providers are charging so much and all around the same price with no one drastically undercutting. Is some of this money going to the CAA too? It seems a pretty lucrative business!