Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't Format SD Card

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by gofirjet, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a SanDisk Ultra 32GB MicroSDHC card and I'm unable to format it using the vision app. It says "Format Failed". And ideas how I can get this card to format for use with this camera?

    Thanks in advance for your assistance.
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    The card might have a lock on it,
    Might be a little slide lever on side of SD CARD!
    ( keeps you from accidentally erasing footage )

    Hope this helps!
    Keep us informed!

    Take care, fly safe!
     
  3. DCGOO

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    It also could be defective, even if brand new. I cannot count high enough to register all of the SanDisk brand flash I have thrown away, mostly for computing applications (using it for system disk). Use in a camera is much less demanding, and crummy class flash generally works. But it can fail at any time, even brand new out of the box. JMO
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    614
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    could be fake...
    ebay?
     
  5. Channel70Productions

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    The micro SD card itself doesn't have a lock slide on it, but most adapters do. Suggest you save yourself frustration and head for the nearest Walmart to buy another card.
     
  6. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate all the replies. Here’s what I have so far. The card does not have a lock on it, no slide lever. I have no problem formatting it for use on my Mac or GoPro camera so the card is not defective or a fake. The card works in every other device except V2+. Reformatted the card on the Mac (FAT32) and still not recognized nor can I format on the V2+. Any other suggestions? Thanks again for the responses and I’ll reply if I find a cure.
     
  7. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    I would try a different card ( if you have 1 )
    Might possibly be a problem with the card slot
    On the + camera gimbal?

    Another possibility, try to delete, and reinstall app,
    Might be some firmware conflict?
    ( I've had several issues with app updates in the past! )

    Please keep us informed!

    Take care, fly safe!
     
  8. Channel70Productions

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Long shot, but it's worked in similar situations for our pro video camcorders. In 'my computer' right click on the card icon to re-format, but don't choose FAT32, but instead choose NTFS. Good luck.
     
  9. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fixed my problem but I’m not really sure why this worked. Here what I did: Using my computer, I copied all of the files and folder in the original 4GB card that came with Phantom and pasted them on my new 32GB card. I put the 32GB card in the Phantom and formatted with the phone app. Works great now! No errors, takes pictures and videos. Thanks!
     
  10. HBPilot

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't understand how to use the phone app to format the SD card. Are you talking about the DJI Vision app or something else? I can't find a menu for formatting the SD card on the DJI Vision app. Am I just missing something?
     
  11. pb7424

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Two Rivers, Wisconsin
    It's an option in the Vision app on your phone under the camera settings. Scroll down and it's near the bottom of the camera options list.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Can't Format Card Forum Date
Can't format sd card on P4P, but can on P4 Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Jun 16, 2017
Can't format sd card with GO App Pro/Adv Discussion Aug 6, 2015
Standard Can't format SD on dji go Phantom 3 Help Apr 4, 2016
Can't launch phantom 4k General Discussion 10 minutes ago
Professional Can't Record Video Phantom 3 Help Monday at 6:24 PM