Can I use drone for feature films?

• Thread starter Deleted member 109724
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 109724

So, I started my own unofficial small movie company 5 years ago, and it has grown and I am wanting to make full length feature films to possibly sell online and play in local theaters. I am partnering up with a church to make these movies. I'm planning on using a Blackmagic pocket cinema camera 4k when it comes out, and getting a Phantom 4 Pro for the video. I already have a field mixer and a good sound system, but I want to know if I am allowed to use the drone for taking arial shots in the movie. I am a part 107 operator. Is that enough? The funding for the movies will be solely from Church members, no sponsors, but in order to pay the team we will need to sell the movies. I know that is considered commercial work by the FAA, but is my part 107 Remote Pilot Certificate all I need to use my drone for the films? I'm planning on flying under 400 feet, during the day, only over participating people, and all those other rules, so no need for waivers I don't think, but are there other rules for feature films?

As far as the FAA is concerned, a 107 allows you to profit from use of your drone. Just be sure you have any necessary waivers IF any apply to your operations.

As far as the FAA is concerned, a 107 allows you to profit from use of your drone. Just be sure you have any necessary waivers IF any apply to your operations.
Thanks N017RW! Just want to make sure if there is anyone else on the forum who uses their drone for "movies". Thanks for your help!

Featured films usually require permits from the city they're being shot in. Keep in mind. You'll need to have all your permits and authorizations lined up. As well as a high dollar insurance policy.

And not sure a P4P will suffice for film grade quality. I guess that depends on your film, but minimum Inspire 2 with x5s, X7, or fly a larger rig with a better ground-based camera and gimbal attached.