Businesses that use their own drones + in-house Part 107 pilot

Do you fly a drone for your employer or as a self employed drone professional?

• I fly for my employer as part of my job.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I'm a self employed drone professional.

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
[P4P; Part 107 Aerial Provider]

Here's the official FAA breakdown of total Part 107 licenses as of AUG01 (by region/state/county; updated monthly): Airmen Certification: Regional Active Airmen Totals

Curious to get feedback from this forum as to how many businesses (as a percentage of total Part 107 licenses) buy their own drones and use company employees with Part 107 Remote Pilot Certificates to fly Part 107 missions on behalf of the company as opposed to contracting a 3rd party Part 107 Aerial Photo/Video provider. Examples would be Construction Companies, Real Estate Agents, Environmental Consultants, etc.

I've spoken to a couple lately who did this and I sensed that both regret the decision. "Seemed like a good idea at the time" responses. I pitched my services to them and they both wanted to hear more. I consider myself to be fairly current with new applications, techniques, hardware, etc, and it appeared they were out of the loop and wanted to learn more, especially after I showed them examples/exhibits. Your thoughts...

***Please complete the attached poll.

Last edited:
Not sure how to complete the poll because I have no idea what percent of Part 107 licenses are used for companies for their own in-house work. How would anyone know that. Are you looking for just a guess? I fly my company's drone for environmental work.

Not sure how to complete the poll because I have no idea what percent of Part 107 licenses are used for companies for their own in-house work. How would anyone know that. Are you looking for just a guess? I fly my company's drone for environmental work.