Beginner P3A Pilot in NYC the land of No-Fly-Zones

Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm an experienced photographer, with some curiosity about aerial photography and an impending need to do some real estate photography for an overseas property my family owns and manages. I've dismissed drone ownership until recently.

Last April, NewEgg had a refurbished Phantom 3 Advanced on sale cheap. When I did a little reading it seemed to be a decent photography platform so I bit the bullet. The drone is registered now (and labeled) but I really don't have any Part 107 intentions.

I participate in a ham radio club and recently read an article about how drones can be useful for antenna inspections so I'm looking forward to being useful in that regard.

After a little reading I picked up an iPad 3 Mini on eBay to use just for the drone. I tether it to my iPhone to get Internet access for mapping and to reach DJI.

I got off to a shaky start. I watched lots of YouTube videos, figured I was pretty well prepared, then updating the firmware on the remote controller ended up with me "bricking" it - no fault of mine. But DJI's service was superlative. They paid for shipping both ways and turned the kit around the day the got it.

Me having twelve thumbs, I managed to crash my drone into my car within the first ten seconds of flight. Threw on the included spare props and I was good to go. No crashes since then. But I ordered more props after that. My car's front right quarter panel now has the coolest marks from the props!

I also ordered a DJI sun shade - perfect size for the iPad Mini - and fished out a lanyard from a computer show to help support the controller. But I need to use fit a camera strap instead, to be more comfy around my neck.

First impressions...

As a photog, not having an aperture control seems a little peculiar but it doesn't matter for what I'm doing.