Argtek installed, not much improvement

Reaction score
I am a newbie, just bought phantom 3 standard 3 weeks ago. I was having limited distances, best I could get was averaging 120 m. Installed the argtek 6 antenna system. Now I get average 350-400 m. That’s at any altitude. Have experimented with different configurations flats, omni etc. is it possible that something may be faulty in the drone itself? I’ve updated, downgraded, then reupdated the firmware, latest is installed now. Recalibrated the IMU, controller 3 times each. Any help greatly appreciated. Any mods for the aircraft antennas out there? I’ve scoured the posts and found nothing directly related to my issue. BTW unit was new when purchased. Thanks in advance.

Reactions: Photoflash
Maybe some higher dbi antennas would help... I think if there is a lot of wifi traffic in your area it can hinder your range...

2.4ghz 18dbi antenna $5 amazon...
https://www.amazon.com/SODIAL-Wirel...qid=1509044935&sr=8-15&keywords=18dbi+antenna

5.8ghz 12dbi antenna $13 amazon
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071FPT17T/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

5.8ghz Helix antenna $82 amazon
https://www.amazon.com/Circular-Wir...&qid=1509045082&sr=8-4&keywords=Helix+antenna

Check out these other forum links too..
Argtek range extender.

A Guide on Configuring a Argtek Data Extender

One other question...the 2.4 is for video etc, and 5.8 is for control...is that correct? Or do they all 3 have something to do with control

Yes I live in a rural area, last flight on a Hill never lost visual. No cell towers near, no businesses, I have satellite tv at may house 200 yards away (if that matters) so if there’s interference I don’t know what it could be from

Yes I live in a rural area, last flight on a Hill never lost visual. No cell towers near, no businesses, I have satellite tv at may house 200 yards away (if that matters) so if there’s interference I don’t know what it could be from

e77e3292ae40e9aaa1b103129482939e.jpg