Why, oh, Why an ND filter?

Reaction score
I am a pretty serious photographer, and I feel like I know a lot--not saying I have nothing to learn by any means, but I am not a newbie.

So as a newbie to drone photography, I can't for the life of me figure out why so many people talk about getting ND filters for their drones? Why, why, why?

An ND filter is meant to keep light out so you can shoot at a lower shutter speed, say, to get that silky smooth moving water.

But everyone here knows that.

With a drone--at least my drone--I want to shoot at the lowest ISO possible to keep noise down. Adding an ND filter will obviously cause you to use a higher ISO, or a wider aperture.

So can someone please educate me about why I need a set of ND filters?

Meanwhile, here are my first attempts at drone still photography. These pictures are what finally take the plunge and get a drone. I have been dreaming of these shots for years except I wasn't tall enough. :)
blossoms-for-miles-by-eric-bjerke-sr-

almond-blossom-show-by-eric-bjerke-sr-

Attachments

• AlmondCountrywarnervilleRdAerialWEB.jpg
    AlmondCountrywarnervilleRdAerialWEB.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 816
  • BlossomRowsSkyDroneSunsetWEB.jpg
    BlossomRowsSkyDroneSunsetWEB.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 772
  • AlmondBlossomsGreenMoundSkyWEB.jpg
    AlmondBlossomsGreenMoundSkyWEB.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 827
  • NewTreesOldtreesPerfectLightToPrintWEB.jpg
    NewTreesOldtreesPerfectLightToPrintWEB.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 751
Usually....its ONLY a UV lens filter thats used...merely to protect the bare lens from constant cleaning and possible damaged from scratches..Its much easier to replace the UV lens then a very expensive 2.7 K or a 4K camera......wow Your posted pictures are super fantastic....Thanks for the share....all i have installed on my P 3 SE is a slip on UV.

Reactions: Classic Mini Man