Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Why is my firmware for aircraft different from RC firmware

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Boss_Advertising, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. Boss_Advertising

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    The picture explains it all.
    I've looked up multiple reviews, and nothing seems to be going the way it should. The RC remote won't update with its blue light. And once I power on both RC remote and drone the overall status is normal. Which confuses me because it would usually say RC remote needs to be upgraded which it doesn't.

    [​IMG]




    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Jaycop likes this.
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    4,979
    The firmware numbers don't have to match.
    DJI don't bring out a new firmware version for the RC every time they release one for the Phantom.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,606
    Likes Received:
    7,766
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It does not always match. You currently have the latest version of everything installed.
     
  4. Boss_Advertising

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    So it's normal for the firmware to be different?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,606
    Likes Received:
    7,766
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It's not always normal. It is currently though.
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,044
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    They update them on an 'as needed' basis so one may be at a different version than the other. It is random.
     
  7. Jack Ley

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    18
    HOLY COW!!! Thank you soooo much for posting this thread and all who answered!! I was having this exact same problem and I've been beating my head against the wall for two days trying to figure out why my RC wouldn't update, I had NO IDEA that they often have different firmware versions, what a weight off my shoulders, thanks again!!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - firmware aircraft different Forum Date
Issues with Brand New Phantom 4 Pro and Linking to Controller after updating firmware on aircraft Phantom 4 Discussion Jul 31, 2017
Aircraft locked after updating to new firmware Phantom 4 Pro Help Jul 2, 2017
Advanced P3 Advanced won't update Aircraft Firmware v1.10.90 Phantom 3 Help Jun 3, 2017
P3 Firmware Replacement P3P aircraft - firmware updates? Firmware May 20, 2017
P4 Aircraft Firmware Update Failure Phantom 4 Help May 4, 2017