What equipment for FPV without line of sight

Reaction score
Hi all, first of all thanks everyone who is contributing here. This forum is a great knowledge base!

I am just in the process of getting Phantom 2 and ideally would like to get FPV equipment with it straight from the beginning. I have read A LOT about it all in here so I know way more than I did a few days ago but I am still a noob. I am not after a setup with a crazy long LOS range - I think 1.5 km would be all I wanted the longest, but I would like a setup with a good penetrating capabilities to get through trees and shrubs when I am controlling the drone from a bush or in hilly enviroment.

At this stage I am looking at Black Pearl or Lilliput 329/DW monitors with built-in receivers. I am not considering the Boscam screen as that doesnt come with a battery that I can swap while in the field. Which one of these would have a stronger radio? Is there much difference here or is this mainly affected by the antennas?

For the TX I was looking into the Immersion 600mW or FatShark 250mW - these two getting are getting good reviews here. The Immersion should be stronger but I read some opinions around here that the Fat Shark is actually the stronger one. Is there a 'winner' between those two or is it more of a personal preference?

What antennas would you recommend for a combo of the above? I guess combination of some helical directional antenna and cloverleaf antennas? If you could put links with your suggestions, that would be greatly appreciated.