Use of ND filters

Reaction score
I know a lot of you use ND filters, I don't know what you are trying to achieve by using ND filters. I'm a pro still photographer and I'm new to video, but the physics of photography is the same in stills as in video.

In still photos I would use a ND filter to control some part of the exposure that was not achievable by using the 3 variables to obtain the needed exposure for the effect I needed on a certain photo.

On the p3 camera when you put a ND filter on it, which one of the 3 variables does it change? If it changes the iso then your video will have more grain, more noise. If it changes the FPS then it would slow it down which could cause problems with the video. If it changes the aperture then the other two would have to compensate for the change which could put more noise or more flicker in the video.

So my question is why do you use the ND filters, what are you trying to achieve by using them?

You're right the physics of photography remain the same. When doing video, however, shutter speed is an essential ingredient in the final product. A faster shutter speed results in crisper, more video-like results, whereas a slower shutter speed creates some motion blur on each frame, resulting in a more cinematic result.

In video, the rule of thumb is your shutter speed should be 2x the FPS you're shooting at in order to achieve a cinematic result. Thus, if you're shooting 30 frames per second, your shutter speed should be fixed at 60.

The Phantom 3 camera is a fixed 2.8 aperture lens, which means that you have to do something to reduce the amount of light entering the lens if you don't want to over expose your video. You have two options: faster shutter speed, or a filter.

ND filters allow you to keep your shutter speed slower, while limiting the amount of light entering the lens, so you can achieve good exposure without having to speed up your shutter.