Testing the Argtek mod tomorrow.

Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
12
Age
36
Totally jumped the gun and ordered the argtek antennas when i was having severe distance problems (weak signal @ 200 ft). Had a up date firmware pop up 4-5 days ago and have been consistently hitting 800-1000 ft (too chicken to go further) without any problems or warnings. Today in the mail was this beast of a antenna. So tomorrow I fly untill RTH comes on. GOD SPEED GENTLEMEN! I will report back after flight.
1478330146097.jpg


Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
12
Age
36
So first outing with the antenna and I made it 1250 ft out at 375 ft of altitude and the wind starts going crazy. I decided to bring it down and wait for it to calm down. Both are my new best distances! Absolutely no warnings about signal strength.

Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
  • Like
Reactions: TacomaGuy
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
33
Totally jumped the gun and ordered the argtek antennas when i was having severe distance problems (weak signal @ 200 ft). Had a up date firmware pop up 4-5 days ago and have been consistently hitting 800-1000 ft (too chicken to go further) without any problems or warnings. Today in the mail was this beast of a antenna. So tomorrow I fly untill RTH comes on. GOD SPEED GENTLEMEN! I will report back after flight.
View attachment 68283

Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
Hi!
With the Argtek mod is the max distance you hit is 1250ft?
Where are you testing? My record with my p3s with wind surfer is 1715m (5600ft) in ce mode in eu. In the city or some place i got lost signal after few meters or about 2-3hundred meters. But in fields or beach places almost always i can go easly about 1km.

Im thinking about the argtek mode but just for the stability. So do you advice?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
12
Age
36
I was testing in the city and the only reason I stopped was the wind. It was my furthest and highest flight so far and everything had full signal strength. Going out again when the wind dies down.

Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
  • Like
Reactions: TacomaGuy
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
33
Location
glenside pa
i did about 2300 feet before i installed an ARGtek, after I got over 3500 feet and this is in a suburban area with lots of wifi interference, I was too nervous to go any further-I could barely see it, and had a spotter using a binocular to verify location-even video feed was not choppy which surprised me, so it makes a standard almost equal to an advanced or professional if you consider that it films close to 4k (2.7) and travels near the distance the others would do in the same situation-for 70 dollars. I doubt anyone could easily keep VLOS past 3500 feet, I'd do the booster but at this point it would be overkill, and a waste since the regulations are VLOS. Best bang for the buck in my opinion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Captain Knuppel
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
12
Age
36
How are you guys doing it? I go out 1300-1600 ft maxed altitude of 385ft and i freak out. I have had toy grade quads and the RTH function sent it the opposite direction. I know this is a higher class them that but i totalled 2 toy grade drones and really don't want to kill this. So back to the testing fields.

Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
Hi!
With the Argtek mod is the max distance you hit is 1250ft?
Where are you testing? My record with my p3s with wind surfer is 1715m (5600ft) in ce mode in eu. In the city or some place i got lost signal after few meters or about 2-3hundred meters. But in fields or beach places almost always i can go easly about 1km.

Im thinking about the argtek mode but just for the stability. So do you advice?
I got over 10,000 feet with my Argtek.20160920_153958.png
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
103
Age
37
Location
Pierre, South Dakota
How are you guys doing it? I go out 1300-1600 ft maxed altitude of 385ft and i freak out. I have had toy grade quads and the RTH function sent it the opposite direction. I know this is a higher class them that but i totalled 2 toy grade drones and really don't want to kill this. So back to the testing fields.

Sent from my SM-G930P using PhantomPilots mobile app
I do 400ft altitude with no sweat but I don't go long distances with it, When I get that high I use FPV.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
111
Reaction score
18
Location
Chester, Virgnia, USA
When I had my standard I went out 1.4 miles with the argtek. I loved my standard. I've since upgraded to the advance. but lightbridge is crazt. I can go out closer to 2 miles before rth kicks in with just a windsurfer. I added these lights to my quad and so long as its not in the middle of the day, , I can definitely see the lights that far out .. it looks like a star as it gets darker and they dont way that much. here is the link to my flight with argtek and the standard.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015IFA03I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015IFA03I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
54
When I had my standard I went out 1.4 miles with the argtek. I loved my standard. I've since upgraded to the advance. but lightbridge is crazt. I can go out closer to 2 miles before rth kicks in with just a windsurfer. I added these lights to my quad and so long as its not in the middle of the day, , I can definitely see the lights that far out .. it looks like a star as it gets darker and they dont way that much. here is the link to my flight with argtek and the standard.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015IFA03I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

...and the link to the flight? hahaha. I think you re-pasted the link from the light when you meant to paste a the link to the vid. Those lights look nice. Thanks for the info.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
97
Reaction score
37
Age
34
Location
Over here
When I had my standard I went out 1.4 miles with the argtek. I loved my standard. I've since upgraded to the advance. but lightbridge is crazt. I can go out closer to 2 miles before rth kicks in with just a windsurfer. I added these lights to my quad and so long as its not in the middle of the day, , I can definitely see the lights that far out .. it looks like a star as it gets darker and they dont way that much. here is the link to my flight with argtek and the standard.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015IFA03I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
How bright is this light you have any pics with light on
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,226
Reaction score
1,937
Age
64
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
2493m with Argtec and Icarus 27dbm mod.

My stock machine with Icarus was good for 700m

Semi urban environment.

Nigel
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
24
Reaction score
5
Age
40
Where is everyone buying this mod from? I have seen it on a few places, but some look sketchy at best
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
109
Reaction score
28
Age
50
Location
Oklahoma


In strong winds could have went way further but would have had a head wind on return flight. 1.5 miles still had strong radio signal and good video.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
137,197
Messages
1,418,131
Members
99,649
Latest member
DroneSolution