Stone Harbor NJ Bans Drones

Here is the ordinance https://ecode360.com/documents/ST2163/source/LF1056464.pdf

95% is standard FAA stuff. The other 5% contains things like:

Words like "vex, annoy, disturb, frighten" are so broad and could be invoked for any minutia. To not allow photography of someone in public that hasn't consented is totally opposite the laws in place, AFAIK.

And lastly:

Once again, an ordinance directly in opposition of federal laws (FAA NAS control).

Bottom line; local municipalities can NOT control the National Air Space. I'm no lawyer, but I would want to be on the FAA side of that argument. I'm reasonably sure that that one point would hold up in any court of law...outside N.J., of course. I would contact the FAA and tell them that local yokals are attempting to usurp and regulate the National Air Space. Let the FAA fight that battle for you. All you have to do is fan the flames.

I think it would be interesting to bring these points up to the local law makers to see what their response is. Dollars to doughnuts, they're ignorant of the FAA's position in the hierarchy. Ask them if they plan on regulating air speed next, and issuing citations for air speed infractions...LOL... If THAT doesn't bring your point home, I don't know what will.

D

Reactions: Breneissen
Being a municipality officer (City Council President and Mayor Elect), I think I'm okay giving this opinion. Most munipalities create ordinances that simply "revise" or "amend" an original ordinance. What this one lacks is a creation date at the bottom where the mayor and city recorder sign the amendment. Most cities include that on the unsigned version, for clarity. Clearly, this is an amendment to an original ordinance dated 2005.