Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Signal Problems?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Snipey, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. Snipey

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had some signal issues on one of my flights. Essentially, I flew back when I started losing video (I was getting half a screen...... and still shots instead of live video). After returning, I powered down, back up, it worked for a minute then happened again.


    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters


    Trying to figure out the cause. It was flying fine at first, and then it just seemed to lose video. Do you think this could be a bad cable between my iPad and my remote? I still had control, just no video it appeared. This included when I flew it back, all the way to right next to me. It is an after market cable, but i've yet to have any other issues with it.
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Cables are known issues, especially with IOS-- some aftermarket cables will not work and some IOS cables have just plain gone bad.
     
    Lonewolf likes this.
  3. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    121
    You're right! I ordered 3 cables. Was grounded for a few days waiting for my replacement cable when mine went bad. Told myself, "Nope, won't do that again" & ordered the 2 additional cables that same day. Use one dedicated only to recharge my iPad. One dedicated to the Phantom & the third as the backup. If either of them fail again? A new one gets ordered right away.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  4. Snipey

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm going to buy a new cable, and also play with enable/disable hardware decode. I know the majority of users have attributed that to reboots, but maybe its causing other issues. Just a thought.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Signal Problems Forum Date
[RESOLVED] P4P firmware update causes no signal and other problems Phantom 4 Pro Help Jun 26, 2017
P4P anyone having problems with GPS signal loss, and going into attimode all the time when flying? Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Dec 31, 2016
New P3P - No Signal & Firmware Problems (Resolved) Pro/Adv Discussion Nov 3, 2016
Advanced Weak image signal problems Phantom 3 Help May 31, 2016
Problems with video signal Standard/4k Discussion May 29, 2016