Should i upgrade to new firmware ?

Joined
Jan 12, 2014
Messages
397
Reaction score
77
Location
Virginia, USA
Since I did the firmware update, and the DJI Pilot App, I cannot find a way to bump my image size up from 960x540 to a higher resolution. This is maddening ....
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
470
Reaction score
180
Age
47
No. Period.
Im staying on 1.7.6 and will not go forward till DJI changes how they do things.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
69
Reaction score
15
Age
64
Have a P3A and have done all updates available. Never had any issues at all and don't know why people do. I am sure there are more people that have done the updates with success than has had problems, BUT it is up to you in the end. All you ever read hear is the issues not the successes. Just normal for a forum, place to vent.

I upgraded mine in March 2017 without any problems but when I upgraded to the next version P3A_FW_V01.11.0020.bin it all went wrong and now my P3Adv is useless. I didn't want to upgrade but I was forced to do it or face being grounded by DJI. I certainly didn't ask for this trouble.

My P3Adv is now going to have be sent for repair to DJI and if it comes back repaired for free I will probably sell it and buy a Mavic because I like the DJI products and trust they will do the decent thing. However, if it costs me money for the repair I shall sell it for scrap and turn to one of the up and coming manufacturers for my future purchases.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aka1ceman
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
14
Reaction score
11
Age
77
Location
West Australia
I upgraded mine in March 2017 without any problems but when I upgraded to the next version P3A_FW_V01.11.0020.bin it all went wrong and now my P3Adv is useless. I didn't want to upgrade but I was forced to do it or face being grounded by DJI. I certainly didn't ask for this trouble.

My P3Adv is now going to have be sent for repair to DJI and if it comes back repaired for free I will probably sell it and buy a Mavic because I like the DJI products and trust they will do the decent thing. However, if it costs me money for the repair I shall sell it for scrap and turn to one of the up and coming manufacturers for my future purchases.

Sorry to hear about your problems.
Just in case you are not aware.....The correct firmware upgrade file for your Phantom 3 Advanced is P3S_FW_V101.11.0020.bin and not P3A_FW_V01.11.0020.bin (The P3A bin file is for the Phantom 3 Pro and may explain why your drone was recognised as a P3 Pro model after your attempted upgrade)

Anyway, good luck with the fix.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
42
Age
70
I have not upgraded as it appears to entail risk without any user benift. It does not seem that the upgrade does anything for the user but has,however remote, the potential for agrivation.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
43
Reaction score
22
Age
60
I have not updated , it fly's records and comes back , what can an update do to better that .
Please can someone explain what i will gain by updating .
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
351
Reaction score
146
Location
NYC
Have a P3A and have done all updates available. Never had any issues at all and don't know why people do. I am sure there are more people that have done the updates with success than has had problems, BUT it is up to you in the end. All you ever read hear is the issues not the successes. Just normal for a forum, place to vent.
I am absolutely certain that most folks have no issues doing the software updates.

But I can tell you first-hand that it sucks when an issue does occur.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eddie258
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
50
I have used the new upgrade now I fine my P4 won't fly more then 30,,MTS away and only 25mtrs high is there a way to fix this don't like this upgrade
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
1,047
Reaction score
432
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
580
Reaction score
239
Location
Herefordshire
My P3A is at v1.10.90 and I mostly use Litchi - absolutely 100% solid. I do have an old tablet with DJI Go v3.1.10, it connects and flies fine but I ignore any update notices (and as someone else said, updates are disabled in the Google Play store). I only use DJO Go to periodically check battery cell status.

It's really hard to find any reason why you should change anything if your P3A is working fine.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,603
Messages
1,449,237
Members
102,409
Latest member
TrapGodYuhDig