Rules when flying

Reaction score
seems our friends across the water in the US of A are getting a bit of a bum deal? will there come a point when the restrictions are just TOO much?

what is the general opinion from the states?

How long before it happens here in the UK?

images

I'm a licensed helicopter pilot in the US. The FAA of all government agencies is probably the less restrictive of all agencies. The FARs make sense but as a pilot in command you can deviate from such restrictions in emergencies and even if you violate certain restriction it is your responsibility to avoid causing harm to people and property . There would be times when I would fly below minimum altitudes but in areas where I could guarantee no harm to people or property in the case of an emergency . Just be smart about where you fly. I'm sure minimum clearances are going to come down from the FAA where UAVs are concerned if they don't already exist.

I'm less worried about the FAA then what local and state governments try and come up with. It's easy for a city to pass a knee-jerk law to satisfy some overly vocal citizens. Plus local laws have more enforcement involved. Either way I'll have fun flying for as long as I can.

I'm a licensed helicopter pilot in the US. The FAA of all government agencies is probably the less restrictive of all agencies. The FARs make sense but as a pilot in command you can deviate from such restrictions in emergencies and even if you violate certain restriction it is your responsibility to avoid causing harm to people and property . There would be times when I would fly below minimum altitudes but in areas where I could guarantee no harm to people or property in the case of an emergency . Just be smart about where you fly. I'm sure minimum clearances are going to come down from the FAA where UAVs are concerned if they don't already exist.