Rapid uncontrolled descent

Reaction score
This is likely a similar question as was posed a few days ago, but here goes. We recently purchased a Phantom 2 Vision + and have just taken our first flights. Because we are total newbies we do have the prop guards and strings attached. We went out flying today and had several instances where the quad more or less fell out of the sky. Certainly it wasn't like a stone falling, but it came down hard and completely out of our control. Once it happened when in a hover and once it happened while trying to bee-line it back to "base". I first thought that it might be a dead air issue when it was hovering, but when it happened while gong full forward that seemed unlikely. The battery phantom battery was at about 45% when it first happened and then progressively lower as it continued happening. Some answered "VRS" to the other post...what does that mean? Thanks in advance for any ideas. BTW flying conditions were warm (80s), inconsistent breeze, fairly humid (at least for SW CO).

We are just using it out of the box; should it have the latest software installed if we just received it last week?

ajohnson said:
We are just using it out of the box; should it have the latest software installed if we just received it last week?

Its a good idea to check it, both Controller and Phantom.

VRS= vortex ring state

It's a physics thing... Basically if your rapidly descending and pulling air through the rotors... Basically the heli gets into it's own down wash creating a state where the rotors no longer can produce lift. So the heli or quad just drops.

If it happens again, full left or right stick to get out of the disturbed air, then apply power to pull out of the death dive!