Question about Part 107

Reaction score
I am a Police Officer in a small town in CA. We (by way of a grant) have received three new drones for use by our department.

We have been training most of our officers and reserves on operations to support search and rescue or other operations over the past month.

My question is: Will each of our officers each now be required to be Part 107 certified in order to operate the drones?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts and suggestions.

Reactions: Yenrab
You're in law enforcement and don't know the answer? Curious....
He has asked a legitimate question and you answer this way? He is not an aviation officer. I am 20 year retired USAF. You think I know also? Sorry Rubyfocus. You can check FAA guidelines or call Phoenix PD and they will gladly help you.

Reactions: Pharm
The correct answer will depend on the agency desire to operate with or without a certificate of authorization from the FAA. If one is obtained or already possessed then pilots may be trained and “certified” under the terms of the COA. If no COA is obtained, then certification under part 107 is required. The other way of looking at it is law enforcement is hardly a “hobby” so that Avenue is not available.

Reactions: Yenrab
btrussell is right. You either operate under a Public COA or under Part 107.

If you want to go the Part 107 route, here's a sample test that will show you exactly what to expect. Explanations for wrong answers are provided:
FAA Part 107 Ground School

You're in law enforcement and don't know the answer? Curious....

This is NOT the type of response we expect to see on this forum. If that's the best you can do, the option of not responding is probably your best option.

Allen

Reactions: Pharm and N017RW