Phantom 3 Standard

A1.

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a little new to the whole drone game here. I'm a photographer and bought my first drone today. As much as I'm impressed with the drone, I'm curious how people are flying so far away and still being able to view their camera through their phone? Like I don't get it. Wifi signals do not extend that far. So maybe you guys can enlighten me since I'm so stupid. ?

Welcome to the forum.
I used itelete panels on all my WiFi drones. Others opted
for other brands and also used amps. A short search
using our search feature will show you many threads on it.

Reactions: captainmilehigh
The P3S , Mavic Air , Mavic Mini all use Wi-Fi , all other DJI drones use an advanced transmission system that allows them to go kms in distance .The most I could get out of my P3S was 900m over a lake , with my Mavic I've had it out to 2km over a forested area and it will go way farther but anything beyond visual sight is illegal .

The P3S , Mavic Air , Mavic Mini all use Wi-Fi , all other DJI drones use an advanced transmission system that allows them to go kms in distance .The most I could get out of my P3S was 900m over a lake , with my Mavic I've had it out to 2km over a forested area and it will go way farther but anything beyond visual sight is illegal .
Add the Spark to the list of WiFi drones. There are also differences in the WiFi as well. All but the P3S use enhanced WiFi. My Spark has much better range than my P3S. My P3S signal drops long before my Spark does.

Regardless, not sure where the OP is from but in most countries, flying VLOS is the law so the ability to fly your drone kilometres away is moot anyway since it’s illegal to fly those distances.

Chris

Thanks for the reply guys. I'm in the States, Oklahoma to be exact. Not to much crazy stuff to view here other than storms, I just wanted to be able to use that 400 feet altitude without losing signal.