phantom 3 standard gps error

Reaction score
total newbie to drones. had this ps3 for a few weeks now. first flight in beginners mode the drone would come out of gps at about 30 mtrs and drift on its own like in atti mode. very unsettling. I eventually crashed into a tree very lightly, everything fine,thank goodness.i packed up quick lol. took the ps3 out today for a second flight. everything fine safe to fly, 12 satelites available.hovered for 30 seconds all good.oh I took it out of beginners mode as well with rth height set at 50 mtrs..took it up and away . about 40 mtrs away no gps again . a slight wind as well.the ps3 drifted again. my heart went. rth again.. did the compass calibration again. exactly the same happened.my confidence is knocked now. can anybody help please?

I can definitely feel your anxiety. My AC came back from DJI repair to replace my gimbal and from then on, it wouldn't keep a good satellite lock. It would rarely set the home point within 5 minutes of starting it up and it would lose GPS location a couple times every minute for almost every flight. It totally freaked me out and I thought for sure I was going to lose it. I ALWAYS made sure I could see it because it would not be able to RTH without a good GPS lock. I took it from NC to NY state (family visit) and tried it up there. Still no better. Sent it back to DJI a second time. They said no GPS problem here! I got it back and it was exactly the same. That was in May. Finally in Sept. I got so frustrated, I kept nagging them and sending them flight logs documenting the problem and they had me send it again. Apparently the third time was the charm because this time they replaced the system board and lower shell that had developed cracks. That finally cured the problem. I still don't get the 17 - 18 satellites that I saw when it was new but it NEVER loses GPS lock now.