Phantom 3 Battery Firmware update Clarification

T

TYCORP

Guest
According to the upgrade instructions.

"Updating Intelligent Flight Battery Firmware


The Intelligent Flight Battery is upgraded during the aircraft firmware upgrade process. It is recommended to keep the upgrade

package files in your SD card. The upgrade will start automatically after power cycling the aircraft."


I updated the Aircraft Firmware with battery #1.
do I assume Battery #1 was also upgraded.
what about battery #2,#3,#4?

Leaving the Firmware on the SD card root and powering on the phantom with batteries 2-4 will upgrade the batteries automatically or????
(I've done so an there are not visual\audio alerts to tell you a upgrade has happened)

Any clarification would be helpful.

TY
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
70
Reaction score
27
Location
San Jose, CA
From what I've read on the forums you leave the .bin file on the root of the SD card, and fly with you other batteries installed. They will be updated while you're flying. I haven't tested this theory personally, but I've read it a lot here.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
70
Reaction score
27
Location
San Jose, CA
So - I decided to test the theory. I put a battery that needed a firmware update in my Phantom, then put the .bin file on the SD card and put it back into the bird. I went through the usual startup checklist - you can hear the SD card reading - left it running for about ten minutes then powered everything down. I took the SD card out and went through a normal startup - the firmware message on the DJI app was gone. Hope that helps.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Age
51
So - I decided to test the theory. I put a battery that needed a firmware update in my Phantom, then put the .bin file on the SD card and put it back into the bird. I went through the usual startup checklist - you can hear the SD card reading - left it running for about ten minutes then powered everything down. I took the SD card out and went through a normal startup - the firmware message on the DJI app was gone. Hope that helps.
You have to do the same procedure as with updating the P3 itself:
Power up the P3 while NOT having powered on the remote- (or flight-) controller. If the controller is on, the P3 will abort firmware intallation because updating firmware while flying would not be a good idea...
If the battery has an older firmware you will start hearing the four short beeps repeatedly until it finishes updating (only a minute or two) and changes to repeatedly a short and a long beep. Cycle the power on the bird and you're ready to go, or do the same for another battery.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
70
Reaction score
27
Location
San Jose, CA
That's a better way of doing it - thanks for the tips. Mine worked but I definitely get your caution.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Age
51
That's a better way of doing it - thanks for the tips. Mine worked but I definitely get your caution.
Thanks Steve,

I just did this myself today with 3 batteries after having powered on the P3 with the controller off.
This is something I would would have done with any traditional RC helicopter setup, but knowing the P3 will never fly off with a definite signal from the controller, I just did (should not do this by default from now on since I'm returning to flying heli's...).
The reaction from the P3 with its beeping just immediately explained to me and let me realize the actual simplicity of when the P3 would accept an update. Unfortunately DJI could have explained this in more detail in their manual. Also, I got a message in the pilot app telling me that a firmware update was nescessary. No...., only for the battery. Why not add a few ascii characters to the message to tell this?

Anyway, after having read some threads about people not knowing for sure if the battery would get updated and what procedure would take care of this, I read this thread, decided to signed up to comment and there you go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Shead
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Age
43
Location
CA
You have to do the same procedure as with updating the P3 itself:
Power up the P3 while NOT having powered on the remote- (or flight-) controller. If the controller is on, the P3 will abort firmware intallation because updating firmware while flying would not be a good idea...
If the battery has an older firmware you will start hearing the four short beeps repeatedly until it finishes updating (only a minute or two) and changes to repeatedly a short and a long beep. Cycle the power on the bird and you're ready to go, or do the same for another battery.
Just a slight bit of info. When I just did my two new batteries, having the controller on had no affect.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Age
45
Location
Brazil
You have to do the same procedure as with updating the P3 itself:
Power up the P3 while NOT having powered on the remote- (or flight-) controller. If the controller is on, the P3 will abort firmware intallation because updating firmware while flying would not be a good idea...
If the battery has an older firmware you will start hearing the four short beeps repeatedly until it finishes updating (only a minute or two) and changes to repeatedly a short and a long beep. Cycle the power on the bird and you're ready to go, or do the same for another battery.
Hi guys. I'm new here.
I updated the firmware ( 02 brand new batteries) as you mencioned but the message on the screen of my controller still shows "Firmware require update / Battery require update ".

What should i do now ?

thanks for helping me
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
346
Reaction score
99
Location
Phoenix
Hi guys. I'm new here.
I updated the firmware ( 02 brand new batteries) as you mencioned but the message on the screen of my controller still shows "Firmware require update / Battery require update ".

What should i do now ?

thanks for helping me
Did you ever find a solution for this? I'm having the same problem
 
  • Like
Reactions: Brad Barcus
Joined
Apr 7, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Did you ever find a solution for this? I'm having the same problem
Hi there,

I just updated my drone. I have 2 batteries, when I inserted the 2nd battery it told me battery require update as well.

I copied the firmware (the .bin file) in the sdcard and turned on the aircraft with the other battery.
It did the upgrade again and finally it worked. So it seems you need to do the same procedure for every battery. Just leave the bin file in the sd card and turn it on, the drone will do the upgrade automatically. cheers
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Age
49
I just put new battery in and wait about ten minutes, gimbal light just blink red!? I turn of the bird and tested dji go app, it shown new firmware update 1.680.. I have that firmware allready . App and battery is working now but im still confused is the battery working fine?
 
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
110
Reaction score
74
Age
45
I have a P3S on firmware 1.5.7. I don't want to upgrade to 1.6.8.
If I get a new battery, assuming it asks me to update the firmware, can I force it to update to 1.5.7 by just placing the .bin file for 1.5.7 on the sdcard ? Thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RSV_Ecosse
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
43
Reaction score
5
Age
48
Location
Scotland UK
I have a P3S on firmware 1.5.7. I don't want to upgrade to 1.6.8.
If I get a new battery, assuming it asks me to update the firmware, can I force it to update to 1.5.7 by just placing the .bin file for 1.5.7 on the sdcard ? Thanks.
I'd like to know the answer to this too. Just received a new battery for my P3S and don't want to update to 1.6.8 as I'm also currently running 1.5.7. What is the procedure for that? Thanks!!
 
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
110
Reaction score
74
Age
45
I'd like to know the answer to this too. Just received a new battery for my P3S and don't want to update to 1.6.8 as I'm also currently running 1.5.7. What is the procedure for that? Thanks!!
I have since upgraded to 1.6.8 by mistake (long story) had the same issues a lot of people had with range and downgraded back to 1.5.7. I have had no issues with batteries and I actually don't know what firmware the batteries have right now. So I'm thinking it really doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Age
43
Wonder if it will affect the batteries from banggood, many say thy haven't had issues but we will see
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,377
Messages
1,400,706
Members
98,609
Latest member
skyblodgett