Phantom 1, Phantom 2 or Vision?

raw

Reaction score
Dear all,

I'm new to quadcopters and have been tiredly researching my first purchase.

I have been training with a cheap £25 quadcopter and now feel ready to take my first step but I'm extremely confused.

A friend who also has gotten the bug has bought a vision which is a fantastic piece of kit, but having lurked on this forum I couldn't help but think a Phantom 1, zen muse, fat shark and gopro would be a much better set up (in terms of video quality) for around the same money.

Now the Phantom 2 has come to market, I'm wondering if I should purchase one with the zen muse and simply add fat shark and a gopro. Now I have the flight time of a vision, video quality of the gopro and stability of the zen muse for a little more than what I can get a vision for?

Pros, cons and words of wisdom would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

From a Vision owner...

If you are not much of a tinkerer/modder, if you don't already own a GoPro or similar, if you want good quality stills, good quality (but unstabilised) HD video, a full telemetry feedback and a non-immersive FPV view of what you are shooting without any extra equipment I can highly recommend the Vision - especially as all this is pretty much plug and play out of the box. I just recently added a Flytrex core to mine and that was about as much tinkering as I want to do (took the lid off, plugged it in, put the lid back!). If you pick your weather conditions and are careful with shot selection you can get some reasonable video. Mine have got better as I've practised and use atti mode when appropriate, etc. Some examples here: https://www.youtube.com/user/Nomisnotwen/videos