P4A/P or Mavic 2 Pro for photogrammetry?

Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
88
Reaction score
10
Age
40
Hi all,
now that the P4A/P is hard to find is Mavic 2 Pro a good alternative for photogrammetry?
Does the mechanical shutter of the P4P matter so much in mapping missions?
The guys at Drones Made Easy have stated in their forums that Mavic 2 Pro is their new standard.
Any opinions on that?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
52
Reaction score
22
Age
53
Good question. I have wondered the same. I often fly larger projects at rather high speeds with good results using the mechanical shutter. However I haven't tested those results against results using rolling shutter. May be time for some test runs. In the meantime, I will be taking great care of my P4P. ;)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
52
Reaction score
22
Age
53
The other thing that worries me is how soon the mission planning apps (or even DJI Go4) will stop supporting the P4P. We are really at their mercy. I'd like to have an alternate plan just in case.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
64
just watch this, and you'll understand why M2P is (most probably) not fully using the 1" CMOS sensor... Shame on DJI.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
5
Age
39
My firm has a Mavic Pro 2, a P4P as well as a Phantom RTK and Inspire 2. We use each for different tasks. We have discovered over the last few years that if we use the Mavic for photogrammetry the photos don't stitch together well. If we try to make a 3D model using the photos from the Mavic it comes out all kinds of messed up and we have to redo everything. The Mavic is good for building surveys, but not for photogrammetry.
 
  • Like
Reactions: vgo195 and Bigriver
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
88
Reaction score
10
Age
40
Ok thanks guys, I might be able to find a P4A in my country so that’s going to be my next purchase. I am on P4 and still getting good results with GCP’s but I think the better camera of the P4A/P is a must.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
25
Quite surprised to read all this!
While I’ve never tried phantom4, I’m quite happy with the results of my Mavic 2 pro in photogrammetry. Don’t really have alignment problems.
But maybe it’s because I’ve tried something else yet?
Or European satellites are more precise ?
Weird, cause even with a Nikon camera without gps, alignement is working well for me in Metashape.
An example:
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
25
European satellites?
The satellites in your sky are the same as anywhere else.
Maybe that's something to do with it being a Global Positioning System.
Well, there are different positioning system technologies around the world. GPS made by the US, Beidou by the Chinese, Glonass by the Russians and Galileo by the Europeans.
Each system as different precision, and I know Galileo was supposed to be more precise…
Guidance devices sold in Europe can connect to Galileo and are more precise for example. Not sure it's the same everywhere / for DJI drones
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,568
Reaction score
7,650
Well, there are different positioning system technologies around the world. GPS made by the US, Beidou by the Chinese, Glonass by the Russians and Galileo by the Europeans.

Guidance devices sold in Europe can connect to Galileo and are more precise for example. Not sure it's the same everywhere / for DJI drones
But all current DJI drones use only GPS & Glonass satellites.
None use any of the other systems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tomphoto
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
52
Reaction score
22
Age
53
Dumb question here... but why in the world wouldn't DJI (chinese) utilize the Beidou constellation (also chinese)?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,101
Messages
1,387,929
Members
97,788
Latest member
kemco10