P3S HUGE DISSAPPOINTMENT

Reaction score
Florida. Haven't had the guts to max range test my P3S only because I have read all the mishaps and range problems with it on this forum. I'm a RF engineer by trade so I wanted to make sure the AC performed to specs RF wise (what ever conjecture is out there). I started with a P2V+. Darn glad I still have it too. My P2V+ 2.4ghz both ports are 400mw/ +26dbm each and the 5.8ghz AC control output is 50mw/17dbm unlike my P3S's 2.4ghz output only 25mw/14dbm and 5.8ghz AC control signal only 5mw/7dbm. I have purchased an additional P3S controller off eBay to find that it has the same tested RF output specs. I suspect DJI was feeling the heat so in turn drastically reduced the rage capabilities of the P3S their low line model at the time of its introduction. Why not their higher line models? AGAIN THE LITTLE GUY GETS THE SHAFT.

i did the power5 mod and argtek antennas, i can go really far but I'm still a little fearful of going too far even though i have good signal now

Reactions: gabrielcruz728
I had my P3S out to 5300' a couple of nights ago. Took it up to 980' one time also.

* Yes I know the limit is 400'. However, I don't live in downtown Detroit either. :)
STOCK P3S?
Any folks getting this kind of range with their P3S are very lucky mainly I suspect due to their location. Most likely they have little or no AC or Controller receiver degradation (interference) and the AC is most likely at a straight line of site from the controller.
My Main gripe is the reduction in transmitter outputs over the P2V+ makes the P3S more susceptible to interference and therefore unexpected flight situations.

Last edited:
I can see your point. I do fly in a wide open area. Must be a pain having to worry about everybody and his dog in a congested area.

Reactions: pntbec