Observations of a rookie

Reaction score
First, and for anyone who hasn't read any of my posts before, or to be clear so as to qualify where I come from, I am an experienced r/c hobbyist- albeit a long time from the game and not familiar with anything that flies outside of an old 2 channel glider that anyone with 5 minutes and some give a **** could keep in the air.

Should you be a new pilot, or just into this game (perhaps sold like me on the Pantom because of some penchant for photography?) and maybe do not have the maturity, or have too much pride to openly bare your soul as yours truly does here, then let me save you some face and time (and maybe money?) by posting up what I have learned:

First- flying in r/c is nothing like driving in r/c.
Ground control is so much easier- there is only really 2 planes to work with... once I got in the air, I quickly learned that while the Phantom flies super easy- true control (and it matters when taking film and pics) is only achieved with true flying skills... and some of these people out here that have mastered it are very savvy in their skill set. I suggest everyoe who is not an actual experienced pilot get a micro or nano quadcopter for practice. I initially could not gain any success with my Hubsan. I was humbled despite my seeming proficiency with the Phantom- but there is a lot of space up there, and gps and all the crutches that DJI has built into it offer a deceptive experience.