Nooby from Aberdeen MD

Reaction score
Good morning (afternoon, evening, noon, night...where ever you are) :)

Nooby here and excited to start this journey! I just got my P4 on Saturday, and man is it a blast! Ok, only 1 flight, for about 20 minutes flying around my front yard :) I just got interested in drones about a month ago. A little background on me. Retired Air Force (22 years), and part of that I was the Flight Safety Superintendent for 3 fighter squadrons (F-15 and F-22), so I understand about restricted airspace, NFZ's, air traffic control operations etc. Not that I'm an expert, I just have a basic understanding about how those processes work. I'm not new to the RC world. I have built and raced RC cars since the early 90's. I got my son into RC cars when he was about 7, and now at 15, he builds and races also. About 2 years ago, I bought him an RC plane (Super Cub), and he is getting ready to build a P-51 to start flying. So, from a RC perspective, I was pretty sure I could navigate a drone with some degree of confidence. Although I knew it would take time (baby steps) to learn how to fly. In my first (and only) flight so far, all seems good. I have a feel for the control of the P4, and I was able to successfully take off, fly, and land several times without issue.