Newbie here, I would love some verification of my interpretation of the hobbyist pilot rules.

Reaction score
I have flown small quads up until now either in my house or maybe 30-40 ft AGL max, so I have ignored the UAS rules for the most part. I plan on buying either a Phantom or a Mavic soon, so I figured brushing up on the rules before hand would be a good idea.

This is when it got frustrating, I had a really hard time finding the right information in the beginning. The legalities of flying UAV's has turned out to be fairly complex, which I believe needs a little work on the part of the FAA. I want to fly my craft legally and safely so I am putting in the time to try to understand this but there are a lot of lazy individuals that will be very put off about the work involved in understanding where you can and can't fly. That is a discussion for another time though.

Today is the first time I have ever looked at a FAA chart so I am sure I am reading it incorrectly, please let me know if that is the case.

Here is a picture of the place I will be flying. (Imgur) I've marked it with a green arrow.

So here is my understanding of the rules and the FAA chart. I obviously cannot fly into Cairns Airfield (OZR) or into Ft. Rucker's airspace. Cairn's and the immediate area are classified as Class D airspace with a Class E extension that goes down to the surface. There is also a Special Use Airspace Alert for the surrounding area warning of military helicopters training at low altitudes. Since I live within 5 miles of Cairn's and Hanchey I should be contacting them to let them know I will be flying while also be very conscious of incoming helicopters. This applies to flying during the week (Mon - Fri.)