Newbe - Flying Over Crowds

Reaction score
I am new to drones, and to this forum. I have spend hours watching u tube tutorials and used same to make myself an awesome set of an updated user manual. I do not live anywhere near any of you and so I am not governed by health and safety rules and regulations of Europe and America. Having said that, I am 63 years old, and I am not about to go endangering my drone, jeopardising my proposed livelihood and endanger my fellow man. I have read, understood and agree with all the universally accepted and understood rules, regulations with ref no fly zones, flying conditions and safety aspects of owning a drone.

My concern is that I have been asked to video school type activities and events - involving crowds of people, participants and spectators. I have read a few postings about flying over crowds, and the one point coming across very clearly is that this is strictly a no no.

I have not given an affirmation that I would do the video, but may I ask what the general feeling is among like minded safety conscious pilots to the aspect of flying over crowds, what would be considered an acceptable insurance undertaking to the school, the crowd, a safe flight altitude etc.

Directly above the crowd probably would not offer the best perspective anyway. I would think you could accomplish the mission by observing the activity from outside the crowd's perimeter. An orbit may be worth considering.

In most cases you need to be "in control" of the crowd. If you can demonstrate that you are, and you have taken all necessary precautions, and depending on local laws - it may be OK.

In the USA you cannot and shouldn't fly over crowds without a waiver from the FAA, Last I heard the FAA has only granted 1 such waiver.