New pilot with a question

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im new to the drone scene (as of xmas day) and I didn't find specifically what I was looking for so Im going this route.

I'm a fixed wing Airline Transport Pilot and FAA flight instructor but the UAV stuff is a whole new realm for me. I've been wanting to play around with a drone since before I got one and when the ability to get my 107 license came along using my existing pilot certificate to make it easy I did so and I have it.

I got my drone from Santa wife on Christmas day (Phantom 3 SE) and, I suppose not fully understanding the 107 vs 336 differences, I registered it. I read the links on the FAA registration site that 107 registration was intending to fly for recreational and commercial purposes (just in case I ever want to fly it and make buck doing so). My drone has it's tail number now, registered under 107.

So here's the question, I live under a Class B surface area (KMCO...closest runway is 1.7 miles) and I have an area I can fly in my community near some forest and retention pond areas near my home but I guess this would apply to any airspace surface area. If I am flying recreationally(non commercial), do I need to get the waiver through the FAA or can I call the airport ATC? I see with the 336, that the notification to ATC is all thats required for a recreational flight (I think...), In that case, should I re-register as 336, with I'm assuming a different tail number, and go that route for recreation flying? I figure it'll cost me another $5 but thats not a big deal.

So anyway, appreciate any insight

Reactions: ferncfc
I asked a similar question to the head of FAA UAS in an email late summer 2016. She said you can register yourself as a recreational pilot, pay the $5, etc. Then you can fly under 336, even if your AC is already registered under 107. You can put your FA number inside the battery compartment.