Nearly lost my P3A

Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
I created way points in litchi only to be told to put the switch in P mode or F mode. I had it in P more and it said error.

I am flying the phantom 3 advanced

Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the F mode the one where you have no signal and GPS at all. I didn't want to risk losing my drone, panicked and press RTH. here Is a snapshot of what I got and I had the switch in P mode


Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,312
Reaction score
1,739
My understanding is:

P mode is Phantom mode
F mode is Function mode
A mode is ATTI or Attitude mode

So P or F includes GPS and should work for you. A mode would be the Non GPS mode, although you'll have GPS in an RTH situation....

Disclaimer: I don't own a P4 or even a P3 :laughing:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,322
Location
San Francisco, CA
For P3, set the switch to F mode, for P4 set the switch to P mode for using Litchi.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
For P3, set the switch to F mode, for P4 set the switch to P mode for using Litchi.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Thank you so much :) can I just ask if I am in F mode and I lose signal on the RC will the F mode still have a compass or GPS to get back to where I am as I'm planning a long mission where I will lose visual and remote control

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,322
Location
San Francisco, CA
When you are working through Litchi, all missions are loaded to phantom and RC has limited control like speed change at waypoints and taking it out of mission by switching to P mode. In case you lose connection while flying with Litchi, your P3 will continue to be on mission path and will complete it unless it sees a low voltage. Losing connection will not trigger RTH with Litchi. You might like lose video and your pulse rate might go up for a while. :)

If you abandon mission at any time, you should move to P for better control through GPS. But if you get compass error, move to ATTI mode and work manually to stabilize it.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
The thing that worries me is I'm still unsure if F mode is ok to fly as I get mixed results with it having compass or GPS activated or not on what I read so far. This way point will be out of my hands as I will lose signal on the remote controller. Is is safe to use F mode as I'm worried it will be a fly away if there is no GPS or compass activated

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,322
Location
San Francisco, CA
Never fly missions if your Phantom has chances of losing GPS signals in flying area.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
The GPS is strong where I will fly it but I am worried thinking that F mode doesn't have GPS or compass activated in that mode

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
917
Reaction score
353
Age
68
Location
Morecambe Bay UK
It's a 6 min mission at around 400 feet high going around the shopping mall


Personally I would not fly this mission, too dangerous, please think of the consequences. If you crash here you could well end up in court. We in the UK should not fly over areas with large numbers of people,eg shopping centres.
Sorry to be a bit negative, just my 2 pence worth.

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
38
Reaction score
8
Age
39
It's a 6 min mission at around 400 feet high going around the shopping mall




Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
Beware - flying over built-up areas in the UK is forbidden by the Civil Aviation Authority without a CAA permission.

Compared to some other countries such as Sweden we have pretty relaxed laws still - I just wouldn't want an incident to happen which causes the rest of us to suffer.

Apologies if said permission has already been obtained but I get the feeling that it hasn't :)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
Beware - flying over built-up areas in the UK is forbidden by the Civil Aviation Authority without a CAA permission.

Compared to some other countries such as Sweden we have pretty relaxed laws still - I just wouldn't want an incident to happen which causes the rest of us to suffer.

Apologies if said permission has already been obtained but I get the feeling that it hasn't :)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using PhantomPilots mobile app
Your right I haven't. But I thought 400 feet would be high enough not to get in the way and I don't have to worry about planes thankfully either

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
Your right I haven't. But I thought 400 feet would be high enough not to get in the way and I don't have to worry about planes thankfully either

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app

If it falls out of the sky is 400 feet going to make a difference to the person that gets hit in the head?

As to the Litchi missions. Click over to F mode before you load them then click start.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
If it falls out of the sky is 400 feet going to make a difference to the person that gets hit in the head?

As to the Litchi missions. Click over to F mode before you load them then click start.
Lol no matter what the height is if it falls.. It will fall and thanks for the tip on F mode. Feel confident to try it tomorrow now.

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
1,746
Reaction score
793
Age
60
F mode DOES use GPS. Think of it this way: If it didn't, it would have no idea where the waypoints are.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
1,533
Age
39
F mode DOES use GPS. Think of it this way: If it didn't, it would have no idea where the waypoints are.
Thanks pharm. That makes so much sense. I turned on the drone at home and switched modes earlier on for it to say F-GPS. I feel such a doughnut for not doing that right At the start lol

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
16
Age
39
Your right I haven't. But I thought 400 feet would be high enough not to get in the way and I don't have to worry about planes thankfully either

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
Altitude has nothing to do with flying over congested areas. There should be no flying over build up areas full stop. This sort of flying will lose us the hobby.

For everyone's sake please reconsider flying these sort of missions.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
Lol no matter what the height is if it falls.. It will fall and thanks for the tip on F mode. Feel confident to try it tomorrow now.

Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app

Yes that is right. No matter the height if it falls it falls. So don't fly over people. 400 feet up is not out of the way if you are above them. If you have a flyaway or battery failure it can end up bad for more than the quad.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,936
Messages
1,396,000
Members
98,331
Latest member
Russinating