Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Measure controller signal strength?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by tonyt76, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    Is there a meter that we can use that screws onto the SMA jacks to see if our controller is putting out the correct power on the 2 antenna wires?
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,236
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    tonyt76 likes this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,422
    Likes Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    RF measurement is a very specialized field and unless you are an expert in that area, it makes no sense to procure any measuring equipment. My two cents.
     
  4. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    I want to measure the power output from my remote controller to determine if it is putting out full power to both antenna wires.
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,236
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Only one is for transmit and there is no adjustment you can make.
     
  6. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    I don't want to make any adjustments, I just want to test to ensure that both wires are putting out full power
     
  7. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    If one wire is for transmit, what does the other wire do?
     
  8. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,422
    Likes Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,236
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    The other is a secondary for receive.

    This provides what is know as diversity and can help with reception quality.
     
  10. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    So only 1 of the 2 wires would show power output?
     
  11. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,236
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
  12. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    647
  13. larrythesimpleton

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Wouldn't scare me. It took a look at it and it doesn't even appear to be in my language (english). :)
     
  14. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    105
    I powered on my controller for a few seconds doing a DBS mod install with no antennas attached by accident. I'm trying to figure out how to test the controller to see if it was harmed.
     
  15. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    308
    I think it would either work or not after you power it on? I've read when people do that with FPV transmitters they go kaput, no inbetween just either works or not afterwards.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Measure controller signal Forum Date
What do the two signal bar graphs really measure? Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 23, 2017
How are you getting your height measurements ? (for buildings / roofs) Surveying and Mapping Jun 5, 2017
Biomass measurements of pasture via Drone? Agriculture Apr 26, 2017
Can I measure with a drone General Discussion Mar 23, 2017
Is there a way to measure distance from drone to structure? Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Mar 21, 2017