Litchi software capabilities and can I fly someone else's drone with my mobile?

Reaction score
Hi, three questions,

1. I know a bloke who is buying a drone and would like me to fly it. I intend to use it for survey and mapping purposes. I have Part 107 certification. I have some experience flying. I intend to get the Litchi app on my mobile. Question, would I be downloading Litchi onto my phone, registering myself with DJI, then flying his drone using my mobile? Or is the UAV itself registered to him via DJI and therefore can only be flown with his mobile?

2. Once I'm flying with Litchi, is it possible to use my own base maps, or at least features i've designed? Reason being, I'm going to be using the Phantom to do aerial surveys of a forest and there are precise boundaries within which to operate. I've got digital line and polygon features of these boundaries in a variety of formats (I am a GIS hobbyist) and I'd like to use them within Litchi (or DJI Go, whichever works best) to determine where to fly.

3. I am given to understand that one can drop "pins" and therefore collect georeferenced data in Litchi, but i'd like to make sure this is possible before I commit to buying the software - can one use Litchi for data collection?

thanks!

Wow your busy already.
Question #1
Once I Phantom has been registered, anybody can fly it, you don't need a mobile device. The remote just needs to pared with Phantom.

You would install the go app, to make settings on the Phantom that isn't available with in Litchi. You don't need the Go app at all, once the Phantom has been registered.

Have you looked at the mission hub yet?
You need to use a PC?

Rod

I get that a Phantom can be flown without the mobile, I have flown them strictly by remote control before, but I wanted to be certain that my mobile, with my software, can be used along with someone else's remote/ UAV.