Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi question - red circle

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Steve J Miller, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Steve J Miller

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Western New York
    I planned a mission on my laptop and didnt see the large red circle on the map but when I went to launch I kept getting "mission error" I looked at the mission on my tablet and saw the red circle and noticed my furthest waypoint was outside of it. I adjusted this waypoint to inside the red circle and it flew without issue.

    Even at the furthest waypoint, I had plenty of signal strength.

    What is this circle for and can it b adjusted?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
    The circle is a reference for you, adjustable in the settings.

    It's to keep n00b pilots from venturing out to far. It won't actually stop you, just a visual reference.
     
  3. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
    I just saw you said on your laptop, so scratch what I said. I was referring in the app.
     
  4. Steve J Miller

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Western New York

    Any idea why I was getting an error until i adjusted the furthest waypoint?
     
  5. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    1,357
    I thought the red circle in the app DID stop you. I assumed that's why my craft turned around at 5400 feet with five bars. I could be wrong but that's what I thought.
     
  6. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    I have flown WELL beyond that red ring. I think its defauted to something like 1600' or so. I flew out to 10k no problem.
     
    Mark The Droner likes this.
  7. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    1,357
    Okay. Yes 1640 default which is 500 meters. Maybe it's there as a waypoint limit. Thanks
     
  8. ScatSpeak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    MO, USA
    This is the parameter: "Map Safe Area Radius"

    It will affect GS/waypoint missions as a failsafe. If you accidentally place a waypoint outside of it, just increase the radius size so it includes the waypoint location...
     
  9. Steve J Miller

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Western New York
    Found out why this was happening - In my DJI Go app I had the limit distance box checked and at 500m -

    I unchecked it, now I dont need to worry about distance in Litchi
     
  10. jiggyb21

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Vermont
    Can you clarify a little bit? I have been flying successful Litchi missions for weeks. The only time I've gotten "fail to upload" is when the bird is too far away when I try to upload a mission. When I bring it closer, it works. Recently, I mapped a mission, actually altered an existing mission I have flown many times already and was greeted with this warning. For days I haven't been able to figure out why it fails. Logged on tonight to see your post and it would seem a possible parallel to what happened to me. I'm on vacation so I can't bring up the red ring relative to the mission in question because the it surrounds my current position a thousand miles away. Question is....did increases the diameter of the Litchi setting allow for the mission to initiate or was it something in the DJI app?? I don't understand what the DJI app has to do with it..
     
  11. jiggyb21

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Vermont
    Sorry I should clarify...I have never touched that setting in the DJI Go app but have flown miles from my house using Litchi..so I can't see the relation between Go app and Litchi..
     
  12. Steve J Miller

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Western New York

    Turns out I had the maximum distance box checked in DJI Go at 500m - I unchecked it to take off distance limitations and it worked fine -
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Litchi question red Forum Date
Litchi Orbit Question Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jul 2, 2017
Litchi question about settings Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jul 1, 2017
Litchi loss of signal question Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jun 29, 2017
Question about Litchi Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jun 27, 2017
Questions about Litchi Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jun 10, 2017