Litchi for Telecommunications Inspection

Reaction score
I am considering an opportunity to do telecommunications inspections. I fly a p4p V2.0 and they need me to use Litchi which I have no experience with. Anyone done such work with this kit?

Hi, No, I have never done telecomms inspections - but I can absolutely see that Litchi would be a great tool for the job. Of course Litchi scores because it creates a precisely repeatable flight - and for you this means that, if you do it right first time, the company will be back asking for annual inspections for years to come. Kerching! Kerching!

In recent years I have used Litchi to monitor wheat and maze seed trials on a farm. The 20 or so seed varieties were sown in strips. I used Litchi to fly the drone over the crops at 2-4 M agl and repeat passes at 20M agl. Repeating the flight at fortnightly intervals from the time that the seed sprouted through to harvest time allowed the crop development to be monitored and comparisons to be made between the individual varieties. This data coupled with the weighed yield for each variety enabled farmers to choose which variety performed best and therefore offered the best financial returns.

When setting up programming the Litchi flight if you have elevation data for the area embedded in the mapping it will simply things because you can select to apply it automatically. If like me you aren't lucky enough to have the elevation data available in the mapping then you will need to carefully check the map's contour lines and build this info into your programming. I am currently flying repeatedly around a chalk quarry and a woodland that is under renovation. Both of these sites have 50M elevation changes from the launch site site so care is needed.