Landing Precision - Helipad

Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
48
Got a Phantom 3 Pro. Did the calibration. Took off using the "lift off" button. After flying for couple minutes tried to land using the H option.

It does not come back to the spot it took off from. Its off by at least 6 to 8 feet.

Anyone else seen this?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
817
Age
54
Location
Canada
Yes thats quite normal, my P3 has never landed exactly on the same spot. Its usually off by a meter or two.
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,375
Reaction score
2,001
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
The P4 is capable of precision landing by taking a picture of the takeoff location. Otherwise it's often off by a few feet.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
452
Reaction score
202
Age
50
That bugged me at the start too. Now, if the landing point or descent is critical I alway do it manually. From where I take off in the garden the wander is enough for it to go into trees etc.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 3rdof5 and Pursuer
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
817
Age
54
Location
Canada
That bugged me at the start too. Now, if the landing point or descent is critical I alway do it manually. From where I take off in the garden the wander is enough for it to go into trees etc.
I find that autolanding lands abit too fast with an abrupt touchdown and bounce which has always concerned me with the camera and gimbal. I always land manually now to both land exactly where I want and as softly as I want. And if i cant land someplace safe and level or if it suddenly gets windy I'll just hand catch it to be safe.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
452
Reaction score
202
Age
50
I find that autolanding lands abit too fast with an abrupt touchdown and bounce which has always concerned me with the camera and gimbal. I always land manually now to both land exactly where I want and as softly as I want. And if i cant land someplace safe and level or if it suddenly gets windy I'll just hand catch it to be safe.
Ditto on all scores.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
693
Would it be possible to autoland P4P on a square 1m plate laying on the water?
Would you do that?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
31
Age
63
My P4P would normally do that, providing you did a "precision" takeoff.

Also, providing that your floating 1 meter square doesn't drift somewhere in the water, which seems pretty likely. Even calm water is seldom motionless.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,739
Reaction score
8,740
Would it be possible to autoland P4P on a square 1m plate laying on the water?
Would you do that?
You can try, but it probably won't work.
Water has no constant features for precision landing to recognise.
i-wdx88K6-M.jpg
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,739
Reaction score
8,740
It does not come back to the spot it took off from. Its off by at least 6 to 8 feet.
That's quite normal because that's within the expected accuracy for consumer GPS.
Sometimes it will be a bit closer, but it could even be a little further away.
It's good practice to pick a launch spot clear of nearby obstacles to allow for this.

If you want pinpoint RTH landing precision, you need a P4 or later, as they have a precision landing feature using optical technology.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,491
Messages
1,448,194
Members
102,286
Latest member
brotherb3