jerky GoPro video

Reaction score
I'm just beginning to use a GoPro 3 Black. This evening, after sunset, I made 4 flights with the camera. The second and fourth videos were just fine but the first and third videos were unuseable -- the entire video was quite jerky, almost as if on a very rapid timelapse or as if it is skipping frames.

What really puzzles me is that the light was fading but consistent, with good exposure when the setting sun was behind the camera.

I'm using a Transcend 32 gb card, type 10.

I do have a polarizer on the GP but if that is creating the problem, why would it not affect all of the videos?

GearLoose said:
I'm just beginning to use a GoPro 3 Black. This evening, after sunset, I made 4 flights with the camera. The second and fourth videos were just fine but the first and third videos were unuseable -- the entire video was quite jerky, almost as if on a very rapid timelapse or as if it is skipping frames.

What really puzzles me is that the light was fading but consistent, with good exposure when the setting sun was behind the camera.

I do have a polarizer on the GP but if that is creating the problem, why would it not affect all of the videos?

Download VLC Media Player, it's free. Due to the high quality video that the GoPro/HERO 3 produces, some computers cannot handle the high quality video so the videos looks very jerky. Give that a try. I have also found that I need to convert the video to something other than the raw video that comes from the GoPro/HERO 3 for it to be easier to review on my computer. Good Luck!