Issue with N3 OSD and phantom 2 (formerly vision)

Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
Hi all, so I have an old phantom 2 vision with a junk egg shaped camera. I replaced the receiver and transmitter (remote) with phantom 2 in order to use FPV with an sjcam sj7 star, odd, and fpv transmitter on the correct frequency. All seemed to go ok, until I received my N3 OSD (Will link to model) and my first issue was I got no video to my monitor passing through the N3, and then realized when plugging the N3 into the CAN port, the aircraft has no flashing lights and therefore no flight motors. I suspect the gopro usb cable I was using, although it charges my camera, wont work with sjcam and have ordered a name brand sjcam cable, may be the cause of my video issue. However, I cannot figure out any reason to lose any motors or lights whenever I plug into the CAN port. I will later on link/attatch video/pictures showing my issue. Any help is greatly appreciated!

The N3 OSD I am trying to use:

 
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
198
Reaction score
40
Age
42
Location
liverpool ny
That is odd download a video I'd like to take a look I been building a f450 flamewheel and ran the n1 osd with the naza m v2 and the btu unit with 5.8ghz fpv set up had the wire from the btu and the black wire from the osd1 crossed so no gps then realized the problem. So download it and we can have a look if you fixed it can you share it lots of these older problems on these site never have the answer
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rushfanyyz
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
That is odd download a video I'd like to take a look I been building a f450 flamewheel and ran the n1 osd with the naza m v2 and the btu unit with 5.8ghz fpv set up had the wire from the btu and the black wire from the osd1 crossed so no gps then realized the problem. So download it and we can have a look if you fixed it can you share it lots of these older problems on these site never have the answer
Thank you! Will upload a video to share here of the issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rattydude77
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
That is odd download a video I'd like to take a look I been building a f450 flamewheel and ran the n1 osd with the naza m v2 and the btu unit with 5.8ghz fpv set up had the wire from the btu and the black wire from the osd1 crossed so no gps then realized the problem. So download it and we can have a look if you fixed it can you share it lots of these older problems on these site never have the answer
i have a video showing the issue, still doesnt make any sense to me i'm having this issue

 
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
198
Reaction score
40
Age
42
Location
liverpool ny
Your running the naza mv2 run the compass wire off the naza to the osd then the wire from the osd to the naza.If you google N3 osd videos will pop up showing how to hook it up that's how I got mine the first time. Keep us posted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rushfanyyz
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
Your running the naza mv2 run the compass wire off the naza to the osd then the wire from the osd to the naza.If you google N3 osd videos will pop up showing how to hook it up that's how I got mine the first time. Keep us posted.
Hi, thank you so much for taking a look at this! I'm not sure I understand what you are describing, as i dont seem to have cables included w my n3 which would fit into the naza. I have not been able to find any videos which show how to set this up, would you happen to either (or both) have a link to a video or site showing what you mean, or send pictures of your phantom showing how you set it up? I can send you back pictures of all the cables included in mine. Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
198
Reaction score
40
Age
42
Location
liverpool ny
If you google how to hook up the n3 mini osd to a dji phantom fc40 scroll down to videos pick the 4th video it's what your looking for
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
Picture 2 the black cable end plugs into the naza and the white one plugs Into the canbus port
Hi, thanks for the reply. I am confused now, as I will show in more pictures. I have the option, it seems to me, to ugh EITHER the cable with one white end into the OSD and the the other white end fits the CAN BUS. OR I have the option to plug a white end of the other cable into the mini OSD, and the other end is black and seems to be intended to plug into the models where the CAN BUS extends onto the landing gear? At least that's what I saw in a how to video. I do not have the piece on the leg so it seems I would plug into the CAN BUS directly? Coming out the other side of the mini OSD are 2 sets of male pins which seems to go to the camera and to the transmitter. So I am highly confused as to where and how I would plug anything into the NAZA. I googled what you said and dont think I see the same results you do, if you could send a link to the exact video you mention that would be super helpful. Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
If you google how to hook up the n3 mini osd to a dji phantom fc40 scroll down to videos pick the 4th video it's what your looking for
Also, I am not using a PMU. Is that something I need to make this work, or will it work with just osd, transmitter, camera?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Messages
198
Reaction score
40
Age
42
Location
liverpool ny
The white end is the same cable as the black one the black end plugs into your naza gps port I believe
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
I know it not the n1 but it should wire like this
Hi, thanks for the help! Unfortunately from what i can tell, the n3 is nothing like the n1. I have no place to plug in the black cable with the clip, as does the N1. I dont know any way to plug in the n3 aside from the CAN BUS that fits, but that is clearly not working. Can you show me a picture of what you have or link to the video you think is what I need?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
The picture above is my set up
That's cool. I think we may have completely different things, as in my pictures you can see there is absolutely no way to plug the GPS coming off the top of my drone into my mini osd, as you have pictured. Literally the only thing which would make sense from a standpoint of what plugs this has and from installs I've seen with other models and with things I've read is to plug into CAN BUS, which is exactly what the cable fits into but it does not work. I don't know how else it would work and how it where it would go into the naza.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
Age
39
That's cool. I think we may have completely different things, as in my pictures you can see there is absolutely no way to plug the GPS coming off the top of my drone into my mini osd, as you have pictured. Literally the only thing which would make sense from a standpoint of what plugs this has and from installs I've seen with other models and with things I've read is to plug into CAN BUS, which is exactly what the cable fits into but it does not work. I don't know how else it would work and how it where it would go into the naza.
If you look at this frame, I am doing what they say, plugging into CAM BUS, provided the circled area by naza is the n1 they stashed below near the battery
 

Attachments

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
138,785
Messages
1,432,710
Members
100,752
Latest member
Aussiepikot