How many satellites for your home point to be updated? (Poll)

What's the minimum amount of satellites it takes for YOUR Phantom's home point to be updated?


  • Total voters
    20
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
7
Age
34
Hello!

I apologize if this topic seems redundant, but I would like to gather research on what the minimum amount of satellites you personally need for your Phantom's home point to be updated?

I realize that there are a lot of threads that discuss this, but from what I've seen, there really isn't a definitive number of satellites that is required. So, what's your personal experience? Cast your vote! Thanks in advance for your participation...

Regards,
Trevor
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,378
Reaction score
824
Age
55
Location
Canada
I've never got the green "safe to fly GPS" on my P3P with less than 6 satellites. Just my experience.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,114
Location
Australia
Are you interested in knowing which phantom Model?

Hard to appreciate what you might be trying to achieve. Home point can be set when there is sufficient positioning information for P-GPS mode to be available. Generally this will be 6 satellites acquired.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
446
Reaction score
234
Age
79
I am a little confused by the question’s wording. The home point is only updated when the drone is in flight, and the pilot requests it, and there are enough satellites. The home point is set initially at takeoff if the proper number and signal strength of the satellites are present.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mark The Droner

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,640
Reaction score
10,639
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
I am a little confused by the question’s wording
The OP is likely referring to the number of satellites needed before the home point is auto set after the motors are started.
 

Loz

Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
831
Reaction score
403
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Arguably (and I don’t wish to) a gps location on earth fix is possible with just 4 satellites signals being received, three technically without altitude, but I’ve no idea what DJI programme their min to be, for home point fix. With so many available now that GLONASS is included, 6 sounds quite reasonable as a minimum.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,114
Location
Australia
Arguably (and I don’t wish to) a gps location on earth fix is possible with just 4 satellites signals being received, three technically without altitude, but I’ve no idea what DJI programme their min to be, for home point fix. With so many available now that GLONASS is included, 6 sounds quite reasonable as a minimum.
6 seems to be it for the Phantoms. My suspicion is it is higher for the Mavic. I would say 8 as a guess.... I base these numbers on direct experience and observation. Specifically occasions where I have noted the satellite count where DJI GO reported P-GPS mode being active and homepoint recorded with the AC’s powered up indoors.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
514
Reaction score
312
Location
UK/South Africa
We almost always wait until the green GPS confirmation light is on before taking off. For us, this happens extremely quickly - within less than 20-30 seconds - so we don’t usually check how many satellites have been acquired. Our skies here are even bigger than those in “big sky country” Montana!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Let Us Drone
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,114
Location
Australia
A quick look at a dozen or so DAT files shows that the home point is set when the pDOP value drops to 2. How many satellites that requires depends on constellation geometry and local factors that affect signal quality.
Is there a typical number of satellites providing for that condition. I’m going to say it’s 6 plus from direct observation of what is reported in the go app.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
Mar 22, 2014
Messages
5,305
Reaction score
2,703
Location
Los Alamos, NM.
Is there a typical number of satellites providing for that condition. I’m going to say it’s 6 plus from direct observation of what is reported in the go app.

From those same DAT files the total number of satellites varied from 8 to 13 when the pDOP value became 2. Separately, I don't think I've ever seen the home point set with fewer than 8.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,378
Reaction score
824
Age
55
Location
Canada
Here's an example of 6. My P3P in my living room.
 

Attachments

  • 20190205_162345.jpg
    20190205_162345.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 176
  • Like
Reactions: Mark The Droner
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,378
Reaction score
824
Age
55
Location
Canada
No it was jumping between 4 and 7. Everytime it went below 6 it went into atti mode but 6 and up stayed green in the app and the rear arms of the AC
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
141,844
Messages
1,458,652
Members
103,632
Latest member
Bee aps