Hardware advice for new pilot - P3S??

Reaction score
Hi all! I am new to drone piloting - only a few days' experience with low end consumer (toy) drones.

However, I am extremely intrigued by the industry, and interested in pursuing at least a side business in the drone field. Mapping with DroneDeploy (or Maps Made Easy) seems like a great way to differentiate myself from other regional drone service providers.

Since I am a new pilot, I am considering purchasing a refurbished Phantom 3 Standard ($400 USD) to practice flying and filming with. However, that model is not supported by DroneDeploy (or MME also I believe).

The least expensive DD-supported model is a refurb P3 Advanced at $639 USD. (Seems like DD wants Lightbridge only, and not wifi.)

My question is: get the P3S as a "beater" to practice with for a while, OR spend the extra money for the P3A (or even a refurb P4) so I can also practice mapping with DD? Doing some pro bono work and building a portfolio is also attractive. I'm just worried about crashing and ruining a nicer model while I'm learning.

Kind of leaning towards getting the P3S to enjoy and learn, and then waiting to see if DJI announces a Phantom 5, Mavic with a better camera, etc. in the near future once I am ready for the big league?

Appreciate all advice!

Bonus question: what do you all think of drone flight simulators (e.g. Realflight Drone)? Worth the investment?? I do have a Holy Stone HS170 Predator (and an Altair Aerial camera FPV drone on the way) to practice with.

Last edited:
I also am new to drones. I operate a Phantom 3 "standard". Very satisfied with it - high resolution & outstanding color-saturation photography. The ability for the on-board camera to provide me with a "pilot's eye real-time" view is particularly useful.

In other posts I have expressed my curiosity and suspicion about the so called " refurbished" practice, at least as it applies to Phantoms.