Grateful for the Return Home Function

Reaction score
I was practicing my flying skills yesterday at a local park with my GoPro mounted for the first time to get some video of my flight. The takeoff was textbook, not really, but I got it into the air without any problem. Everything was going great. I was enjoying myself and feeling confident when the drone disappeared from my view. I had flown it out of sight. In a panic I started playing with the sticks to see if I could catch sight of it again. I had no idea where it was and whether what I was doing was making it better or worse. Somewhere in the back of my mind I remembered a post where it was mentioned that turning the transmitter off would trigger the return home function and I turned the transmitter off. Not really sure that this was right, I turned it back on and played with the sticks some more. I was just about ready to pack up and go home when I heard what I thought was a far off lawn mower. Very slowly, the sound got louder until I realized the sound was right above me. I looked up and about 100 feet above me I could see the drone. It slowly descended and landed about a foot from where it took off. I was one happy camper. I have the video and after watching it realized just how far away the drone was before it returned. I won't be that careless in the future. Lesson learned, and I’m looking forward to getting it back into the air.

After this experience I'm considering adding some sort of strobe, or something which will make the drone easier to see as it gets further away from me. Has anyone else done something like this? If so, what did you add to your drone, and how much did it cost?

Thanks