Grüß Gott

Reaction score
Hi folks.

I am a complete Newbie as far as RC is concerned although I am pretty handy on the XBox ;) I guess RC doesn't have the "I don't fear the consequences" of the XBox though :)

I'm a British Ex Pat now living in The Austrian Alps living a dream. My main hobbies are winter sports and summer motorcycling with a bit of Paragliding thrown in. We run a B&B attracting many motorcycle tourists during the summer and for which I have a couple of GoPro HD2's and an HD3 Black along with a few other video cameras, Drift etc, for making films of Guided Tours.

Living at 1200m and backing straight on to the mountains which go up to 3000m gave me a yearning for filming from some different angles. Paragliding is OK but limiting. Trying to get some close ups at altitude would end in disaster.

So I started looking around and was initially drawn to the iFly 4S having never heard of the Phantom up to this point. Then I saw the Phantom and being a bit rash when it comes to making decisions, swallowed the advertising hype and bought one. Having started to look a bit further and reading various forums I see that it is not as perfect out of the box as I initially assumed and reports of a couple going AWOL are alarming especially if they had a GoPro attached.

Having invested a fair amount of money in The Phantom I really want to go about this half right. The first thing I have done is order a Ladybird V2 to get the hang of flying these things without risking too much money and I am currently waiting for it to arrive. Once I have got the hang of it there are a couple of deserving young lads who live just along the mountain a bit who I a sure will have a bit of fun with it.

In the meantime my Phantom is sat here next to a pile of spare batteries. I understand the importance of calibrating the compass, the order for powering up, checking my surroundings etc but are there any tips for a Newbies initiall attempts at getting off the ground?