Fried my signal chip by doing jumper mod

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,901
Reaction score
4,659
Age
51
Location
NZ
Jumper mod?
 

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,901
Reaction score
4,659
Age
51
Location
NZ
That seems and sounds crazy,to what good would that do ?or not do
To me that's causing a signal loss not a gain
 
  • Love
Reactions: Squirrel!
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,113
Location
Australia
That seems and sounds crazy,to what good would that do ?or not do
To me that's causing a signal loss not a gain
Think of it as replacing a fuse. How might it be better to take the blown fuse out and leave the circuit open? The jumper restores the connection to the antenna.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,901
Reaction score
4,659
Age
51
Location
NZ
Ah ok thanks for explaining was bit stumped on that
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Age
33
You would probably get more help if you didn't assume everybody knew what you meant by "jumper mod".
If your chip is fried because of updating via wifi and your range in down to 300m only then you have to do this to restore the range.

You have to solder a wire in this two chips
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200123-215420.png
    Screenshot_20200123-215420.png
    889.8 KB · Views: 173
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,113
Location
Australia
In wouldn’t be too hard on yourself- it’s a difficult job even with the right gear.

A new main board won’t be expensive and shouldn’t be hard to find. Even if it worked the performance wouldn’t have been 100%.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Age
33
In wouldn’t be too hard on yourself- it’s a difficult job even with the right gear.

A new main board won’t be expensive and shouldn’t be hard to find. Even if it worked the performance wouldn’t have been 100%.
Yes, that's my last option.. A new a board.. Yes, it's not hard to find. But most of sellers that I found is having difficulty to ship in my location. I'm very much willing to pay. 😉
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2019
Messages
205
Reaction score
187
Age
104
If your chip is fried because of updating via wifi and your range in down to 300m only then you have to do this to restore the range.

You have to solder a wire in this two chips
"If your chip is fried because of updating via wifi..." I haven't done a lot of updates but, when I do, it's via cable. But, regardless, if I was simply updating the firmware and smoke started trickling from my drone due to a "fried" IC chip, no amount of jumpering would get my drone back in the air reliably, if at all, and I seriously doubt any chip could get shorted during a simple firmware update. It is possible to "brick" a drone by interrupting an update, using wrong firmware, etc. during the process but Ozzy23 doesn't indicate that that was the problem. If, for whatever reason, a drone was bricked, a momentary jumpering of certain chip pins might clear the lockup for a re-install but the purpose of a permanently soldered jumper seems illogical to me. A chip that burned from being "fried" during a WiFi update sounds like a problem that DJI would be responsible for.

I tend to think Ozzy23 meant "bricked" instead of "fried" but, in any case, a complete board replacement would be my recommendation.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2019
Messages
205
Reaction score
187
Age
104
Yes, that's my last option.. A new a board.. Yes, it's not hard to find. But most of sellers that I found is having difficulty to ship in my location. I'm very much willing to pay. 😉
Have them ship to a friend and then have the friend ship to you would be my solution.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
394
Age
56
Think of it as replacing a fuse. How might it be better to take the blown fuse out and leave the circuit open? The jumper restores the connection to the antenna.
Horrible analogy.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,509
Messages
1,448,388
Members
102,304
Latest member
Ty222