Flying without a cell phone connection

Reaction score
I am just getting started and in many areas including where I live there is very poor or non-existent cell reception as it needs to be line of sight. Is there a real issue with NFZ and DJI drones and what are the best work arounds that others use?

I thought I could download maps from Google and use a GPS with Bluetooth to enable the iPad to determine its location, but I noticed that Google Maps when an area is downloaded provides a message stating that the download expires in 29 days.

Thanks for any advice.

You don't need cell service to fly.
If you are on new version of DJI Go (and firmware) make sure you log into DJI Go before you leave the house. You won't need to log in again until it asks you - 90 days I heard, but can't confirm.

Your phantom has GPS built in, you don't need GPS on the device, but it helps.

To put that in context, I fly with a iPad Air 2, wifi only, cache maps at home and it works great.

I am just getting started and in many areas including where I live there is very poor or non-existent cell reception as it needs to be line of sight. Is there a real issue with NFZ and DJI drones and what are the best work arounds that others use?

I thought I could download maps from Google and use a GPS with Bluetooth to enable the iPad to determine its location, but I noticed that Google Maps when an area is downloaded provides a message stating that the download expires in 29 days.

Thanks for any advice.
Generally speaking weak cell areas have few NFZ's, but not always of course. If you're in a NFZ the best advice is don't fly there. If you download a map, you should be flying within 29 days, so what's the problem? Just download again if you have no cell coverage in the area.