Flying from inside the house

Reaction score
Hey guys, noob here. I've been in reading mode over the past week or so trying to come up to speed on information on the forums, so apologies if this has been addressed.

What I would like to achieve:
Sit in my office and fly my P2V in FPV. My home backs up to a large park so my typical flying will be from home anyway.

So far my plan is:
Mount TL-ANT2414A on top of my chimney, mount it on some servos and use an old RC car controller to point the antenna. Decision point would be to use a long cable from the existing range extender to the TP-Link or to mount them both and use the weak WIFI signal for the bridge.

Still trying to figure out the same solution for the tx controller which quite frankly I haven't had the time to research yet.

Am I missing something or is this something that should be achievable?

I appreciate the help!

If you externally mount an antenna it has to be able to point both up and down in addition to moving in a 360 degree circle. For your transmitter antenna you would need to change the mount so you can use any antenna. This mod shouldn't be done unless you're confident you wont mess up your controller. Once you do that you can screw in a 5.8ghz signal amplifier and have that go to an externally mounted antenna. If you don't want to worry about direction you could also go with using high gain omni directional antenna's for both.

Either way you go it's probably not a good idea flying your plane around without having an actual visual line of site of what you're doing. You can't rely on just the FPV screen especially if you're not a highly experienced pilot flying by FPV alone.

Depending on how advanced the autonomous waypoint features going to be then the upcoming ground station features firmware update might be interesting to you.