Flyaway or Inexperience

Reaction score
I ordered the Dominator today & should be here in a few days. To celebrate I went for a fly at the soccer field where I have flown before. I am a newbie & with only about 25 flights under my belt, mostly with GPS but also with Atti. I have practiced with HL & CL with success. Today I got the same LED lights as I always get: a couple of minutes flashing yellow for warm-up, followed by multiple green flashes for home location, then one green followed by three reds, one green followed by two reds, one green followed by one red, then just double green flashes indicating GPS (no more reds). I lifted off & away it went. The sticks had no control at all. After a few seconds I switched to HL....it kept flying away. I turned off the transmitter hoping for failsafe but it kept going. I turned the transmitter back on & I then switched to Atti which did gain control because I could lower the altitude. However it was so far away that I could barely see it, let alone see orientation. I am sure a more experienced pilot could have brought it back but I was too flustered to fly it straight. I turned off the transmitter hoping for failsafe to return it but it seemed to hover so far away. I waited for it lose battery power to land itself. I quickly jumped in the van & drove towards the industrial area it came down in. Luckily I found it after only about ten minutes of looking.
My battery tester reads 8.6 volts with O% capacity. I am recharging now to see if I can salvage the battery. The Assistant software shows no errors & no need for calibration.