FAA registration- Part 47 vs. Part 48

J_L

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
New member here, just got my first drone and starting to navigate the process. I'm a commercial photographer in the US, with a LLC. Working on getting 107 soonish.

I see plenty of info here and elsewhere describing how Part 48 is so easy, or how Part 47 you can choose your own N-number... but I don't really see anyone talking about advantages of one over the other. 47 is a bit more work to obtain, so is it ever worth the effort? I'm a US citizen, so that's not a reason for 47 for me. I imagine that in the rare situation that I need a drone in another country, I would just hire a local pilot.

But does 47 carry any weight when requesting permissions around airports or other areas? Are you taken more seriously / professionally with an N-number?

If I use my LLC to register a Part 47, does that offer any liability protection? Maybe the FAA doesn't care, but maybe from civil lawsuits?

Any other reasons to go with Part 47 over 48?

Thanks!

I have never seen anyone register a UAS (less than 55 pounds) under Part 47. Why would you want to go through that extra paperwork and effort? As far as I can see, Part 47 offers nothing more than Part 48.

Part 47 offers no advantages as to where you fly or are allowed to fly. That is all based strictly on the pilot.

No one cares how your UAS is registered...only that it is legally done so.

Method of registration should make no difference in liability lawsuits. Again that comes down to you, the operator.

Reactions: BigAl07
As stated above one form of registration does not give you any more "ability" or difference in liability.

Honestly the N# is designed for Manned aircraft but we utilized it for a few years until the FAA got their ducks in a row and created the Drone Portal for us to use. Actually the N# process has some DISADVANTAGES (I'm speaking from FIRST hand experience).