Do I get an ipad mini 4 with cellular unlocked or wifi only?

Reaction score
I want to buy an ipad mini 4 to fly my dji 3 pro using the Go app or possibly Litchi. I asked this before, but I was flying a standard 3 then. I've upgraded now to a pro 3. Do I need cellular or is wifi alone on the ipad mini 4 enough? Ive read the other threads, but found none that speak specifically to the 3 pro and ipad 4 mini. So, asking just to be sure. Im far from a techie. Thanks.

Reactions: bstanton89
I want to buy an ipad mini 4 to fly my dji 3 pro using the Go app or possibly Litchi. I asked this before, but I was flying a standard 3 then. I've upgraded now to a pro 3. Do I need cellular or is wifi alone on the ipad mini 4 enough? Ive read the other threads, but found none that speak specifically to the 3 pro and ipad 4 mini. So, asking just to be sure. Im far from a techie. Thanks.
Either cellular enabled version or a wifi only version will work well, but there are a few optional features you can't use with the wifi only version.

Read through this post for much more detailed info on the different features that work and don't work based on different scenarios.

Last edited:
Do I need cellular or is wifi alone on the ipad mini 4 enough?
A Wi-Fi only device will work just fine if you don't want to use the Follow Me flight mode or need to reset the home point to your current location after taking off (could be helpful if you fly in scenarios where you must move away from the takeoff point).

Thanks. Great advice and great links. Follow up: if I get wifi only, can I tether it to my iphone for gps?

Thanks. Great advice and great links. Follow up: if I get wifi only, can I tether it to my iphone for gps?
No. Tethering does not share the phone's GPS.
Read through this post which answers that exact question and explains options for external GPS should you choose to go that route.

Also, if you are interested click here for some tips that I often share with new P3A/P3P owners.

Cheers!