Discharge rate with motors off? Or how keep IMU warm?

Reaction score
Hi, does anyone know the discharge rate or amount while just letting the P1 sit, without motors running? I'm a pro video Director, and I'm going on a Shoot in a week, of whitewater kayakers coming down a river. The challenge is, from the time I see them coming around the bend, I probably only have about 10-20 seconds to get airborne and line up for the shot. So I need to figure out how long can I sit, while waiting for the Shot. I'll do some tests, seeing how much voltage drops at various time periods, I guess. But it would be better if I could be more precise, somehow.

Or, if anyone has a better idea, I'd sure appreciate it. Ideally I'd use a spare battery to keep the IMU warm, then just disconnect and plug in the onboard battery. But I can't get that to work properly. I tried plugging a spare battery into the Phantom, and waiting for a few minutes, well after it's take-off ready. Then I disconnect the spare, and quickly plug in the onboard battery. At that point I get alternating green/red flashes for about 3 or 4 sequences, then a sequence of 3 green flashes, and those 3 greens repeat indefinitely. I haven't tried flying at that point, I'm too worried about a fly-away, especially since my shoot is in a week. And after poring over the LED codes, I can't find anything that matches those sequences.

If I wait about 1 minute after disconnecting the spare, and connect the onboard battery, It's ready to go in about another 45 seconds. So that's 1:45 total ... way too long.

FYI I'm using a 3300mah battery and a Sony Rx-100, so I normally get just about 7-8 minutes of flight time (but the Sony makes it worth it!!!) I know, I'm beyond the specified payload, but it actually gives me some amazing, very professional results.

Any ideas would be appreciated!